AN INTERVIEW WITH MOREABOUTCAT

Cat is a 27 year old blogging help, lifestyle, mental health, beauty, film and TV blogger from Chichester, West Sussex. She can be found at moreaboutcat.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?

I first started blogging in 2011 and bounced around with a few pop culture blogs as well as writing for other sites, but moreaboutcat was created in 2013 when I decided I wanted a more “personal” blog about my life and hobbies. My first post was all about The Walking Dead comics of all things!

Since then, I’ve really developed and improved my content and I couldn’t be prouder!

Why did you start blogging?

I’ve always loved writing, and wanted to be an author as a kid. I decided to start blogging after Uni as I thought it would help me hone my skills and help me find jobs (it did!). I loved the idea of having my own space on the internet to be myself and share my interests as well.

What are your hobbies?

My main hobby is blogging! I also like reading comics, binge-watching Netflix and going to see films at the cinema. I very occasionally dabble in decoupage as well…it’s so therapeutic!

What do you most enjoy writing about on your blog?

I mostly enjoy writing my life update type posts and mental health posts as I think it’s important to be as honest as you can be as you never know who is reading and may benefit from what you have to say/advice you have to give.

The community is great for finding others that relate to you when you open up. I also enjoy writing my blogging advice posts (even if they do sometimes take *ages*), as I like supporting new bloggers.

Favourite film and why?

Agh, this is tough! I always change my mind. I really enjoy a good comedy, but I also love a well-made horror or psychological thriller. A film I could probably watch again and again though is Little Miss Sunshine.

Tell us more about your blogging community you’ve set up?

I’ve set up a Slack group for bloggers – it’s basically somewhere you can subscribe to and chat about different topics (called channels). I started it as I wanted bloggers to have a community space to go to where you don’t have a 140 character limit like Twitter, or ridiculous rules and regulations like the blogger Facebook groups.

Any blogger can join the Slack group here: https://join.slack.com/blogchatgroup/shared_invite/MjAwMjI1NTQ4MDU1LTE0OTc3MjEwNDYtNDQ4YzllZDM1Ng

It’s really easy to use and we have a few active members getting involved already! I’d love to see more though.

Who is your blogging inspiration?

Hannah Gale! She is the absolute queen of blogging. I love all of her posts – even the fashion ones when I have 0% interest in fashion usually. She makes all of her content fun to read and relatable, and I 100% aim to do the same!

What are your blogging tips and advice?

I think the best advice I can give to newer bloggers is to be honest in all you do as a blogger. Write from the heart, and work hard on making your content the best you can and something you can be proud of.

Leave a Reply

