AN INTERVIEW WITH CARPE DIEM EMMIE

Emma-Hope is a 25 year old lifestyle, food and travel blogger from Leicester. She can be found at carpediememmie.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I actually started back in 2011 when I began my Dance degree at Coventry University. But the blog I now write, Carpe Diem Emmie started in 2014/15 when I was just graduating and emerging in the dance sector as a professional.

Why did you start blogging?
I did because as part of my degree we were asked to document and reflect on our dance practice and work we saw. Then Carpe Diem Emmie was more about the professional development I underwent as I graduated and now it’s a fully embracing Culture and Lifestyle blog with some food and travel thrown in for good measure too!

How do you edit your instagram photos?
I edit using the Instagram app, only because I don’t have the patience and time to use anything else. I have just downloaded ColorStory after a recommendation from another blogger so I’m excited to see what it does to my photos on Instagram now. I’m nearly at 4.5K too so I want to up my game a bit more!

What is your favourite topic to blog about?
It’s definitely all of the Theatre reviews I get to write and being invited to local theatres on a regular basis is so much fun you wouldn’t believe, being passionate about the sector definitely helps too!

Do you have any hidden talents?
I don’t think so, probably the dancing thing but I only bust those moves on special occasions now aha!

Where do you see yourself in 10 years time?
I’d love more than anything to have a full-time career in the arts, especially in PR & Media. My blog has really inspired me to do it.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
My inspiration has to come from the entire community, we’re all very different and working as hard as one another with our little space on the internet. I love how many different niches there is out there, you can find anything through blogging, it’s pretty awesome!

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Don’t expect so much so soon, build up your content and don’t just presume PR’s come knocking after one day of blogging. Also write about what YOU enjoy, not what everyone else around you is doing because it’s not worth it, trust me. And also don’t worry if you one week your filtering out a whole bunch of posts but then the week after you struggle, it’s important to take your time!

Leave a Reply

