AN INTERVIEW WITH CRYPTICBEAUTY1

Emily Smith is a 21 year old lifestyle, beauty and fashion blogger and YouTuber. She can be found at crypticbeauty1.com.

When did you start blogging?
I have been blogging since I can remember, I have always loved documenting my travels when I was younger but I never published it anywhere it was simply just for me and my family to read. I started getting into online blogging around 4 years ago where I just had a very basic blogger website that I never really published anything on and forgot about. I launched crypticbeauty1.com just over a year ago when I decided to get serious about blogging and being in the blogging community, I’m still yet to get into the rhythm of things as it’s quite time-consuming and studying full time, working part time and having a social life can make it hard to have any spare time but I will find a plan that works well and get there.

Why did you start blogging?
I had seen how close but welcoming the blogging community is and I was seeking friends that had a common interest. I had originally joined an Australian blogging group (Bloggers United Australia) to try and connect with Australian YouTubers in the beauty area but I had found they were more bloggers than vloggers so I decided to see what all the hype was about and from the get go I knew this was the community I wanted to be a part of. I also just love writing, I find it so therapeutic and relaxing, I’ve always written songs and short stories so I thought why not share my love for anything beauty/fashion and lifestyle related while incorporating my love for writing.

What is your dream job?
Talent manager at Gleam Futures, but my ultimate dream job would be a full-time blogger/vlogger

Where’s your favourite place you’ve travelled to?
This is so hard, I have been so lucky to travel to so many beautiful places around the world but I think my favourite would have to be LA. I just love the vibe there, the first time I went there I knew that it was somewhere I envisaged myself visiting multiple times or maybe even living.

Favourite restaurant?
Anywhere that sells sushi haha. If someone offers me sushi I will be in the best mood possible

What content do you like posting on your Youtube channel?
This is a tricky one, I’ve put my YouTube channel on the backburner for a long time now because I just can’t figure which content I like to post. I’ve done a lot of beauty but I think I love doing a lot more lifestyle and fashion videos. I just feel there are loads more people who can do makeup so much better than me but with lifestyle and fashion, I just feel more creative and in my element. I do hope to get back into my channel but for now, blogging is my main focus.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
Hands down Zoe (Zoella). Although she doesn’t blog very often anymore 😦 she will be my all time inspiration for a lot of things. I just love what she stands for and she is a mighty powerful woman who just seems so humble and she preaches women empowerment and that’s what I love. I remember when I first started my blog I had hers up on a different tab just getting all this inspiration from her. Along with Zoe, I would say all my blogging friends I have made along the way are also my inspiration because they motivate me physically and mentally. Seeing the drive they have also gives me my drive to be successful and that’s what I love to surround myself around.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
– Make friends
– Know your audience- this is a huge one for success if you know what your audience love then you know you will have returning readers
– Interact with other bloggers and readers
– HAVE A PLAN/SCHEDULE

Leave a Reply

