AN INTERVIEW WITH STATICNOVA

Rebecca Dennison is a 19 year old beauty and lifestyle blogger from the North East of England. She can be found at staticnova.blogspot.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I started my current blog just over a year ago, in February 2016. I have had ones prior to Static Nova but they fizzled out after a few months. This is the longest one I’ve kept to date and will be around for a while yet!

Why did you start blogging?
I ultimately started blogging because of the influencers I look up to and the ones I’ve watched and loved for years. Zoella was possibly the biggest influence for me starting my blog. I’ve watched her since 2011 and it is amazing to see how well she’s done over the years. Around the same time as I started watching Zoe, I watched Becca Rose on youtube – They’re both two of my favourite youtubers to date!

I also started blogging as a creative outlet. At the time of starting my blog, I was coming up to my final months studying my A-Levels and I was focusing so much time into my school work, I wanted a hobby that I could turn to when my work was getting too stressful and wanted to direct my energy somewhere else for a few hours a week.

Best tips for taking blog photos?
Make sure you have good lighting! I mostly take my photos on my phone, so it’s important I’m using the natural lighting to the best of its’ ability otherwise the quality would be awful. When the lighting isn’t perfect, I use the OTT Light, which is a really bright desk lamp, with warm and white lighting settings. Once I’ve taken my photos I edit everything on the Colour Story app. This way you can further adjust the brightness without having to struggle with Photoshop for hours! (may or may not be speaking from experience here… These ‘Easy Photoshop Guides’ aren’t always as easy to follow as they make out to be!)

How are you finding your A levels?
I finished my A-Levels last July, and honestly, I really didn’t enjoy them. I am going to put this down 100% to the subjects I chose. When I started 6th form, I had my sights set on becoming a primary school teacher, so I took subjects which would go along with that career path. I took English Language, Sociology, Health and Social and Media Studies. The only subject I really enjoyed was Media Studies, which is a main reason why I want to work in the media in the future. A-Levels don’t work for everyone, but some people really enjoy them! It’s all personal preference.

What was it like being Next’s blogger of the month?
I really enjoyed being Next’s blogger of the month. I hadn’t been blogging that long, literally only a few weeks, and I think this was probably a main reason why this blog didn’t fizzle out like the ones I’d had prior!

What posts do you find are your most popular?
My Makeup Revolution Golden Sugar 1 & 2 Palette reviews are some of my most popular posts to date! Other than those, any posts about my room decor seem to do really well!

Who is your blogging inspiration?
Becca Rose again! All her photos are so aesthetically pleasing, and her blog has a really neat, almost magazine-like layout. I loooove!

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Stick at it! I wish I’d done this on my older blogs and not given up on them. It may feel like no ones reading – but trust me, as long as you’re passionate at what you’re writing about – people will start to read! Don’t be afraid to interact with other bloggers to get your name out there! I got involved in Twitter group chats, where I was able to make some amazing friends from literally, all over the world!

Leave a Reply

