AN INTERVIEW WITH BEAUTYBYCATHERINE

Catherine is a 21 year old beauty, fashion and lifestyle blogger from Kingston, Ontario, Canada. Sh can be found at beautybycatherine.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging back in January of 2014, but that was me posting once every 2 months or so. I like to tell people I started in April of 2015 because that was when I started posting regularly. I recently revamped my blog in December 2016 and made the decision to unpublish my old/embarrassing posts.  So if you went to my very first blog post published it would say May 2014. I don’t regret getting rid of my old posts because it made me feel more comfortable with my blog, the only downfall is that I don’t really have a blog birthday.

Why did you start blogging?
Honestly, I’m not sure. I didn’t have a moment where I was like, “I should start a blog because that’s a great outlet for my passion for beauty”. One day during the early hours of the morning I hopped onto a free blogging platform and thought I would try it out; it was completely an impulsive decision. I was too self-conscious to put myself on YouTube, so I thought a blog would be the solution because it seemed less intimating. I would’ve never guessed how blogging would’ve affected my life so positively.

What are your favourite type of blog posts to get stuck into?
Lifestyle tips, hacks, or personal stories. I love hearing about people’s experiences; you can learn so much about the world through someone else’s eyes. I could spend an entire day on lifestyle blogs.

Do you have a career outside of blogging?
Not really, I’m currently finishing up my final year of university. Although, I do work part-time as a digital marketer, so it can be tricky balancing everything. I’m still trying to figure out the balance but organization and planning ahead has been the best thing I’ve learnt.

What item do you find yourself wearing every day?
I have a Claddagh ring that I wear almost every day. There’s no special reason why, I just love the meaning behind it. My understanding of it is that it represents love, loyalty, and friendship. I love the fact that such a small thing can represent so much more. Other than that, I typically don’t wear jewellery or any other item frequently.

Favourite music artist?         
Hands down Mumford & Sons.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
Jessica from http://diaryofatorontogirl.com/. She is my idol. Her content is everything I strive mine to be like. She’s extremely relatable on all platforms which makes it even easier to love her. I think I found her on Instagram first and fell in love with her feed, and then I immediately followed her on every other platform.

What are you blogging tips and advice?
Don’t compare yourself to other bloggers. Since I’ve made blogging friends and started working with companies I started comparing the opportunities my friends got that I didn’t. I would beat myself up because of it, but in reality, we all have completely different blogs. Even if both blogs are beauty, fashion, health, or lifestyle focused, how you present your content is 100 percent different to others. Also, don’t get tied up with the numbers. I started keeping track of my stats just to see how I was doing and then one day I got obsessed with them. And all my free time was spent trying to get better numbers, which made me sick of social media and my blog.

 

Leave a Reply

