AN INTERVIEW WITH CAROLINE ELGEY-WHITE

 

Caroline Elgey-White is a 33 year old fashion, lifestyle, health, beauty, travel and fitness blogger from Scarborough, North Yorkshire. She can be found at carolineelgeywhite.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging back in 2011. I say ‘back in’ like it was years and years ago! It feels that way sometimes, but I wouldn’t change having begun.

Why did you start blogging?
Blogging/A blogger wasn’t a concept I knew about back then. I remember just stumbling across a blog while Googling something. It was actually by a lady in the next city to me. After reading through more parts of her blog I thought, I could do that. (I was quite naieve to what was ACTUALLY involved in being a blogger! But that’s where it began for me.)
What are your favourite skin care products?
My favourite skin care is Liz Earle. I hadn’t heard of her brand until I had begun blogging and along with many other ‘blogger cliches’ and favourites, I was unsure whether to jump on board. However I did and I haven’t looked back. Her Hot Cloth Cleanser really is all that and so much more. Whenever I get too complacent and try something new, which isn’t all that often, and it goes badly, which is generally does, I always go back to Liz Earle and it sorts my skin right out. 
How would you describe your style?
I feel my style has evolved so much over the years. Which I think is pretty true to most people, as fashions and trends change. However I don’t think I’ve really come into my personal style more so than over the last year. As well with body changes due to giving birth, I feel content where I am, favouring a more basic and neutral palette. 
What do you do to pamper yourself?
I don’t get or give myself much time for a pamper. I get my hair done every 6-8 weeks, so get a nice couple hours there, if that counts! I’m not one to get my nails done or anything. My free time is spent doing blogging work, walking our dog, housework and evening spent with my husband watching rubbish TV!
What places do you want to visit?
With having our little boy, I’ve become quite a homebody. Having grown up touring the UK on Haven holidays and loved it, I feel this is something I want to do with our boy. There’s so many amazing places to visit here, like Edingburgh and Newquay, and so much to learn. I’m sure we’ll go abroad at some point, I’ve always wanted to return to New York and even Malta. 

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I wouldn’t like to say I have one particular blogging inspiration. There are so many lovely ladies and gents out there that fire my belly, as they say. I love reading so many different kinds of blogs for many different reasons. I like blogs that are relatable to me. That I can learn from. That I can go out and shop from. My current go to for outfit inspiration is Ashley Brooke.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
I don’t feel in a postion to be giving advice or tips, as it’s such an ever changing world, that I’m forever finding new things out myself, as well as keeping up with new technology and apps etc. But I would say to anyone starting out – stay true to yourself. Just because you see a successful blogger look a certain way or do things a certain way, doesn’t mean it IS the way or it needs to be that way. Carve your own path. Plus be patient. As the saying goes, Rome wasn’t built in a day. Be prepared for hardwork if you want it to go anywhere, but overall, enjoy it. if you don’t it’ll shine through. 
Leave a Reply

