AN INTERVIEW WITH CRAFTWITHCARTWRIGHT

Ruth Cullen is a 36 year old lifestyle and crafting blogger from the West Midlands. She can be found at craftwithcartwright.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in 2011, when I was working part time and looking after my young son.

Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging as I wanted a creative outlet, I was lacking in contact with other adults and wanted something that was just for me.

What inspired you to blog about crafts?
I started blogging about crafts as this was my biggest area of expertise, I am a textiles and catering secondary school teacher, so it wasn’t a big leap for me.

What is your favourite crafting activity?
My favourite crafting activity is cross stitch. I love the relaxation I can get from repeating little crosses over fabric. I enjoy it so much I also design patterns now. I run an Etsy shop selling them www.etsy.com/shop/craftwithcartwright and also have a whole bunch of free patterns on my blog.

Have you been into crafts since a young age?
I have always been into crafts from as young as I can remember, my father is an artist, so there was always lots of paper around to draw on. I have also always loved baking and sewing too! My mum still has all the things I’ve made her, bless.

Do you have a career outside of blogging?
I am returning to teaching in September after a three year career break. I teach design and technology subjects, so textiles, cookery and art mainly.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I don’t have one main inspiration, but I do like Lylia Rose as a lifestyle blogger and you baby me mummy for great advice and tips.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Get your own domain as soon as possible, use canva for making great images for your blog, find a great scheduling tool that works for you.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Thanks for including me 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

