AN INTERVIEW WITH THEUNABRIDGEDSASS

Chrissey Bui is a 21 year old lifestyle blogger from Chicago . She can be found at unabridgedsass.com.

When did you start blogging?
I’ve run little blogs before The Unabridged Sass, my first one was when I was fourteen and it was a little wannabe fashion blog. I officially started this blog last August before my last semester of college.

Why did you start blogging?
I started The Unabridged Sass late one night after I had sent in my application to a prestigious internship. I was so excited about it that I just wanted to tell someone! I registered the domain on WordPress and just started writing. When I first started blogging I wanted to create a blog that was fun, fresh, unabashedly candid and genuine.

I wanted to be able to share my favorite things and to record all of my adventures and milestones, and after seeing so many other generic blogs out there I wanted to create something that was mine. There are so many blogs that depict life as perfect and immaculate, but life isn’t that way. It’s messy, complicated, spontaneous and real. Ultimately, I wanted to create a blog that was true to me and real. And I think I’ve succeeded in doing so.

What is your favourite make up brand, drugstore and high end?
My favorite drugstore brand is L’Oréal, but I’ve recently purchased some Revlon products that are definitely winning me over! My favorite high-end brand is Urban Decay; they have the most pigmented eyeshadows and their products are always amazing!

What is your favourite recipe to cook?
My favorite recipe to make is hot pot! When I was in college, my friends would come over to my apartment and I would make hot pot for them (which is incredibly easy but so delicious). It’s the perfect group food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. I’ve had so many great memories making the dish that it’s become one of my absolute favorites.

What inspired your blog name?
I am a sassy person. I think I’ve managed to simmer down as I get older, but I believe that I’ll always be (somewhat) sassy. My friends always joke that I have so much sass, and “all the sass.” So, that’s where my blog name comes from. It originally was called “The Unabridged Sass of Chrissey Bui” but I shortened it. I think it’s the perfect name!

How is your career coming along?
I’ve been getting this question a lot recently! Readers always love asking me about my career path and what I’ve been up to. I think it’s because a lot of women are afraid to admit that they have goals outside of being someone’s girlfriend or marrying a guy. It’s definitely not a bad thing to be ambitious! I think more and more people should be more open and honest about their career goals!

I recently graduated from college early with my Bachelor’s in Biological Sciences. It’s no surprise to anyone who has read my blog that I want to be a Medical Lab Scientist. I then want to obtain my Master’s in Health Administration to become a Medical Lab Director. It’s definitely a long path ahead of me, but I’m not discouraged. I’m currently applying to various CLS/MLS programs to move forward in my education and then become an accredited Medical Lab Scientist. I’m hoping that I’ll start school in the fall!

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I think this is definitely a tricky question because there are so many blogs that I read. When I first started blogging I was inspired by blogs of people I didn’t even know, like Julia Engel of Gal Meets Glam, or Carly from The College Prepster. But as I keep blogging, I find that I’m inspired by my blogging friends much more. For example, my friend Paige of Currently, Lately is always consistently posting quality content and you can just tell through her writing and photography that she puts so much heart and dedication into writing her posts. My Jess from PT Contender is always honest and real about her journey applying to PT school and she is the BEST at communicating and talking to readers! Each and every one of the blogs I read inspires me in different ways, but my friends definitely inspire me more.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
My biggest advice is to be yourself. Be true to who you are and always be authentic. I’ve learned that when you aren’t genuine, it’s incredibly obvious and it definitely shows in your content and your writing. There’s already five million “perfect” fashion blogs out there, but only one you! Readers may be drawn to your site initially because of your posts or content, but they stay because of the blogger. So many of my readers have messaged me telling me that they aren’t a huge fashion or beauty person but they stay and keep reading because they like me and my writing!

Also, you aren’t going to be super blogger famous overnight. Everyone has to work hard and keep moving forward before they start to see progress. I never measure my success based on follower count or sponsors. I view my blog as successful if I am enjoying the whole process and loving what I do. That’s what matters. Each and every day since I started my blog, I have loved it.

Lastly, always be grateful for your readers. I appreciate each and every person who reads my blog or comments, even if it’s just once. Many times on a bad day, a reader has been able to brighten my day and make me smile! I love how so many different people from across the globe can be brought together through a common interest; that never ceases to amaze me.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

