AN INTERVIEW WITH ANTONIAWRITES

Antonia Miles is a 20 year old lifestyle, beauty and fashion blogger from Buckinghamshire. She can be found at antoniawrites.blogspot.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in October 2016! I tried to start up a blog a few years ago but I didn’t really have the confidence to promote it, so I deleted it.

Why did you start blogging?
I’ve always loved writing so it seemed only natural that I should give blogging a go. As a university student, it is so important to have releases from the heavy workload. Writing on my blog has allowed me to develop my own unique writing style and serve as a hobby which I thoroughly enjoy!

What are you studying at university?
I study BA Geography at the University of Birmingham and I’m currently in my 2nd year.

Do you struggle to balance university and blogging? 
I really did struggle to balance my university work with my blogging in the beginning. When you see so many polished blogs with amazing photography and unique content on social media, it definitely puts bloggers under a lot of pressure. You can’t help but want to invest more time into blogging, to try and improve and better yourself. But over time, I’ve really come to realise that blogging should be something which makes you happy and that you should begin to question things the moment blogging begins to feel like a chore. I set myself a target of two posts a week for consistency, but that’s not always practical (especially over exam season!) and I’ve learnt that it’s okay if you don’t post in a while. Your studies should always come first.

What is your dream job?
I’ve wanted to be an investigative travel journalist since I was 15! It epitomises everything I would want in a job and I know I would get so much out of it. After all, writing and having the freedom to travel the world for work wouldn’t be the worst existence!

What is your favourite topic to blog about?
I’m so drawn to writing lifestyle opinion pieces. I think it’s the perfect way to reveal to your followers a little bit more about yourself and what you think and feel about things. My blog features a lot of opinion pieces on matters specific to university life, such as dealing with anxiety at university, or long distance relationships and most of the feedback I get is very positive! I’m a huge believer in speaking out about what you believe in, especially on a blogging platform. You never know who might be reading or how your piece might positively reach out to someone who might be experiencing the same.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
My housemate Grace! (http://loveellenagrace.blogspot.co.uk/) It’s been so lovely to see someone I care about grow and expand something she genuinely loves doing. As a beauty blogger, it can be so easy for a blogger to jeopardise their integrity as a writer just for a good write up (or for the freebies involved!) But Grace’s writing style drips with the same dry humour which characterises her personality and her detailed beauty insights and hacks are so relatable to her student audience! Go Grace!

What are your blogging tips and advice?
I adore blogging. It is a great way to talk to like minded people, so I would definitely recommend utilising social media pages such as Twitter and getting involved with the frequent blogger chats that go on! I would also suggest that it’s important to keep things into perspective. It can be really frustrating sometimes, especially through social media platforms, to see a constant stream of perfectly polished blogs; I know it certainly makes me feel inadequate sometimes! But I would implore anyone feeling that way to just put things in perspective. Success is not about how many followers you have; success is about achieving the goals you set yourself along the way, whether that’s improving your photography, developing your own writing style or working with more brands. The big name bloggers didn’t magically gain 50k followers over night. Keeping a blog requires time, patience and above all, passion!

Leave a Reply

