AN INTERVIEW WITH GRACE&COY

Michaela Da Costa is a 25 year old fashion and lifestyle blogger from Australia. She can be found at graceandcoy.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in mid 2015 but had been wanting to start blogging many years before this. With two blogs previously on the works but deleted short after. This time, I took the bullet and made it official.

Why did you start blogging?
Winston and Willow is the main source of inspiration as to why I wanted to start blogging. I had already had a passion for fashion as well as a fond for photography and so I wanted to combine the two and showcase my personal style online. I am also a revert and saw a gap in the market where there wasn’t many fellow Australian Muslim fashion bloggers to inspire us that modest fashion can be on-trend and stylish. Of course, now there are a variety of Muslim fashion bloggers that are already doing this. I still hope to make my mark in the market with my individual and versatile style.

Describe your style in 3 words.
Versatile, androgynous and unpredictable

Favourite item in your wardrobe?
This is a tough one… I guess I will have to go with my Vienna Tony Bianco slides. They are a replica of the Gucci’s minus the price tag.

Where do you want to travel too next?
Europe. I would love to take Idrus to Portugal and show him why Portugal is classified as home even though I was born and raised in Australia. I’d also loved to see other parts of Europe that I have yet to see as well. Another part of Italy, Greece, Amsterdam, Germany and many more.

Where do you buy your clothes?
To be honest, I haven’t been buying a lot of clothes lately but my go-to are local boutiques in Canberra and Perth. Rebel Muse is my ultimate favourite which is in Canberra and Asylum in Perth is becoming my favourite as well.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I have far too many! Winston and Willow of course, Dina Tokio, Ascia_AKF, Mariaalia and Miss Gunner are my huge inspirations to date.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Be patient and true to yourself. Don’t go into blogging with a mindset to receive free gifts and to become famous but perhaps set it as a goal for the future. Just do you, blog about the things you believe in and find your niche that will set you a part from the rest of the bloggers across the world. I’m almost two years in of blogging and am still trying to find my niche but I will continue to do what I love which is something you should do too. If it’s met to be, it’ll be!

Leave a Reply

