AN INTERVIEW WITH SKINFULLOFSEOUL

Katherine Spowart is a 25 year old beauty blogger from Northumberland. She can be found at skinfullofseoul.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started Instagramming in summer 2015, and based on the success of that, I launched my blog in March 2016.

Why did you start blogging?
My Instagram was an outlet for my love and discoveries of K-beauty whilst living here in Seoul. When that grew and I saw there was demand for me to blog too, I decided to go for it, as I felt I wanted to share more than I was able to on Instagram. I had also moved to a job with less hours which gave me more time to dedicate, which I felt was important so I could make the blog into exactly what I wanted.

What are your top 3 recommended skincare products?
Oh it’s so hard to only choose 3! My all time favourites that I’ll always go back to are: Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence, SkinRx Lab Made Cera Essence Toner, and 107 Core Flex Cream.

What is your most treasured possession? 
It sounds so ‘millennial’ of me, but it really has to be my iphone. Being away from my family and friends in the UK, its my lifeline to be able to Facetime them whenever, as well as keep in touch on Facebook. I adore to take photos, not just for my blog, but of my every day life, and times with friends, so it’s vital for that, as well as listening to music which I constantly do as I commute every day and I’m always on the subway. And of course, my Instagram addiction means I’m constantly scrolling and researching. I literally use it constantly- it’s so important to every aspect of my life.

What made you want to blog about Korean beauty?
I moved to South Korea back in 2014, and became absolutely obsessed with the beauty scene here. No one at home knew what I was talking about, so I decided I wanted to share what I was learning and discovering in Korean beauty. It’s very different to the Western beauty market, so it’s great to share my experiences.

What is it like living in Seoul?
Amazing! It’s such a vibrant, lively city to live in. It’s truly a city that never sleeps, and there are so many unique experiences here. Everything is made for convenience in Seoul, which makes life pretty easy and whilst there can occasionally be a language barrier, it’s perfectly fine to get by just with very basic Korean speaking and reading skills. I also love the juxtaposition in Seoul. It’s a city of huge skyscrapers and incredibly modern architecture and technology, but also ancient palaces, and small alleyways of traditional houses. I love the way tradition and modernity live alongside each other, and I can access the beauty of both.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
My blogging inspiration is Jude at Fifty Shades of Snail. She does the most incredible Asian beauty reviews and is a fountain of knowledge. I also love how she communicates so well with her followers and readers- she’s so approachable and willing to help.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
For me I think the best blogs are clean and simple, with clean, bright photos. Posting regularly is a must, as you gain loyal readers that way. I also think it’s important to keep your own voice. As a blog grows you can easily become lost, or become too commercialized…I like to know that I’m still reading the voice of the blogger and not just a mouthpiece for companies. I think readers really appreciate integrity and honesty.

Leave a Reply

