AN INTERVIEW WITH LIL BLACK BOOTS

Katie Lennox is a 25 year old lifestyle, fashion and beauty blogger from Oxfordshire. She can be found at lilblackboots.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging back in February 2016.

Why did you start blogging?
I’ve always been in awe of the blogging community, I have avidly followed blogs and youtube channels since University. However I’ve always been quite shy and never had the confidence to make my own little space on the internet. In 2016 I set myself a new years resolution to finally get my blog up and running, and there came Lil’ Black Boots!
Describe your style in 3 words?
Comfortable, Neutral tones & timeless (mostly!!)
Favourite thing to bake?
Banana Loaf!! The yummiest cake ever, and a great way to use up those dodgy bananas hanging around in the fruit bowl!
 
How do you take good blog photos?
I have the Olympus Pen EPL-7, which is my dream camera. I have the standard kit lens and also recently purchased the 45mm. I spend lots of my time researching hints & tips for taking good photos, but it’s all trial and error. I’d love to take a photography course so I can get better as I still have so much to learn.
What are your all time favourite beauty products?
Oh wow, big question! I would say definitely Estee Lauder Double Wear- I’ve tried so many full coverage foundations, and this is always something I go back to, its my trusty all rounder! Other than that, I would say the Elemis Pro-Radiance creamy cleanser, it has totally changed my skin for the better. Also, Pixi rose oil, it’s so soothing and calming to my skin and I try to use it both morning & night.
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I have so many I follow on a day to day basis, but a few that stand out to me are Josie from Fashion Mumblr, Victoria from Inthefrow, and Laura from Laura’s Little Locket. I love their style, their girl boss attitudes and I’ll always find their blogs inspiring.
What are your blogging tips and advice?
Just be you! The industry is saturated right now, and it’s really really hard to stand out. But you have to remember there is only one you, no one else can do it better. So just stay true to yourself. Oh, and if you need some time off, take it, at the end of the day self care is the most important. Plus scheduling! Our lives can get so busy and you get pulled here there and everywhere, try to set one day a week at least to get posts organised, written & scheduled.
Leave a Reply

