AN INTERVIEW WITH SIMPLYJADEY

Jade Millard is a 16 year old beauty, fashion, lifestyle and photography blogger from Hertfordshire. She can be found at simplyjadey.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in April 2015 after many months of deliberation. I’d been reading blogs and watching YouTube videos since I was 9 and so 5 years later, I finally decided to pluck up the courage after some encouragement and I just went for it!
Why did you start blogging?
Reading and writing have always been two of my favourite things. In fact, English has always been one of my favourite lessons at school. I’d been through quite a lot of drama during that time in my life and I’ve always had a strong desire to help people whenever and however I can too. Combine that with my love of writing/self expression and you can see why my blog was born!
Do you find it hard being a young blogger?
I would definitely say that I do find it hard to be a young blogger sometimes. When I first started out especially, I found that everyone was in a different stage of their lives to me. I had only just started my GCSE’s at the time and some of the bloggers I read were already in their late teens/early twenties! It can be hard to feel like you fit in when you’re quite a lot younger, because you don’t feel like you have as many opportunities and you can feel isolated when the topic of going to events is brought up, hence why I do avoid them at the moment, but I’ve learnt to accept and embrace it now! I’ve even found myself a group of girlies that are young bloggers like myself, so I do feel like this is an issue that soon becomes resolved after you have been blogging for a couple of months.
What inspired you to do photography? 
Much like reading and writing, I’ve also always enjoyed photography. I’m not sure why I ever got into it, but since blogging, I’ve found myself wanting to express and share that love a lot more. I’m the sort of person that enjoys capturing memories and so if I go to a new place or if I see something that I think is pretty, I always make sure I snap a quick photo! I think it’s a form of art and although I’ve never been particularly artistic, I see it as a way of expressing the things that I admire and capturing the precious moments in my life.
How would you describe your style?
I would describe my style as being incredibly varied! I usually dress quite casual, but I also own a lot of classic pieces, like denim jackets, dungarees, a LBD and converse. I enjoy experimenting with different textures and patterns, but I like to look put together, whilst still feeling comfortable at the same time.
What type of posts of yours do you find to be most popular?
In all honesty, I find that my self love and mental health posts are the most popular. I’m the sort of girl who isn’t afraid to talk about anything. I just want to help people to feel happier and if I’m honest about real life issues, it’s much more likely that I’ll have a positive effect on whoever stumbles across my blog. I think people find comfort knowing that there are others out there who understand and care, so if I can be that person, then I feel like I’ve done a good job!
Who is your blogging inspiration?
Ooohh, this is a tough one, as I have so many blogging inspirations! Even though it may sound a little bias as she’s one of my internet friends, I think that Nicole (abeautifulchaos.co.uk) is doing absolutely incredible. Her posts are all so eloquently written and she has a way with words that just captivates anybody reading her posts. They feel conversational and easy to relate to, but they are also honest and informative. I think she’s doing a fabulous job with everything and I don’t think I could be any prouder!
What are your blogging tips and advice?
Just stick at it and remember why you started. Post what you want, when you want and enjoy every second of it! Take constructive criticism and feedback, interact with other bloggers and social influencers, share the love by commenting on and sharing their posts and make your blog your own little space on the internet that reflects who you are entirely. Most importantly, have fun!
Leave a Reply

