AN INTERVIEW WITH JUILANA CHOW

Juliana Chow is a 20 year old fashion and lifestyle blogger from Copenhagen, Denmark. She can be found at julianachow.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in 2011, when I was only 14 years old. I was encouraged by my older brother, who is an expert at web design and coding, so he quickly set it all up, and I was ready to go.

 Why did you start blogging?
I wanted to share my love for fashion and lifestyle with like-minded people around the world. It was such a good jump start at the time, as it kick-started my career in the media industry. It was that same year that I got my first job as a freelance writer for a youth magazine in Copenhagen. I was very excited about it all, and to this day, I still have the same mission; sharing my passion with my audience in the best possible way.

Why did you move to London?
I moved to London last year to attend an intensive bachelor degree in Fashion Communication at Condé Nast College of Fashion and Design. I have one year left of my degree, and I am enjoying every minute I spend in London. The course is taught by experts in the fashion field, and the city is perfect, career-wise, so it could not be better.

What’s your favourite country you’ve visited?
I have a nostalgic belonging to Italy, as that is where my grandmother was from. I have so many precious memories of from when my family and I would go on road trips through the east coast of the country. My favourite cities in Italy are Florence, Venice and Rimini.

Where do you get fashion inspiration?
I am a sponge when it comes to fashion inspiration. I pick up trends, colours and textures everywhere I go. Whether it be street style, Instagram or Pinterest, I mentally store whatever is interesting. I then try to translate that into my personal style and a good fashion story.

What is your dream job?
My ultimate dream job is to own my own company, and be my own boss. I would love to see myself being able to try different roles, like being an editor, writing my own book, and inspire and encourage people as much as possible along the way.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I am constantly inspired by influencers, who are achieving tremendous success. Some of my biggest inspirations are Chriselle Lim from The Chriselle Factor and Marianna Hewitt from Life with Me, because they are generously creating content out of their passion for sharing, all while being extremely aware of the business and brand they are creating.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
My first blogging tip is to not only be goal orientated, but constantly to remind yourself to have fun with it. There is nothing worse than feeling stuck in blog statistics and numbers, so it is extremely important to remember why it is you are blogging. Ultimately you should be blogging because of your love for documenting and sharing your knowledge and creativity.

Also, try to surround yourself with as many bloggers as possible, so you can constantly encourage and support each other. Whether this be through blogger events in your area, or through social media – networking is key.

Leave a Reply

