AN INTERVIEW WITH CALLMELIZ

Elizabeth Allock is a 25 year old fashion blogger from Stratford Upon Avon. She can be found at callmeliz.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I’ve been blogging since 2014 at university on and off, but I didn’t put my all into the blog until last year when I changed the name of the blog to Call Me Liz.

Why did you start blogging?
My blog Call Me Liz started out at university where I was studying fashion marketing. Our course leaders talked about how blogging was a great way to get yourself known and communicate your love for fashion whilst looking for a graduate job. Now my reasons have changed slightly because I don’t work in fashion, it’s a way for me to have a fabulous hobby that I love alongside my job. Also I am never away from social media for very long! I love it!

What is your dream job?
My dream job would be to setup and run my own fashion website selling vintage style clothing and cute dresses! I really think there is a gap in the market for this kind of clothing.

How do you keep up to date with the best bargains?
I literally download all the apps including my go to shopping website ASOS and sign up to loads of newsletters so the offers keep rolling in! I would say it’s a lot easier to find bargains online than it is on the high street because there’s so much more choice and remember new items get uploaded everyday!

What camera do you use?
For my Instagram photos I use my iPhone 6s, the camera is fab but for my blog photography I’m very lucky that my friend Hannah Sorrell takes my pictures with her Nikon D5300. Before her my photography on my blog wasn’t what I longed for it to be.

Favourite restaurant?
There’s so many to choose from, I am a real foodie! But I will have to go for Bistrot Victoires in Paris, me and the boyfriend fell in love with the little french bistro on our first trip away together, so it has lots of lovely memories for us too.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I do have specific bloggers I read on a regular basis such as Amy from The Little Magpie, but I would say I find a lot of my inspiration from Instagram searching through the relevant hashtags,  there is some serious style going on from around the world. One of the best things about blogging is discovering new bloggers all the time, you never know who’s style is going to inspire you.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Be true to yourself and write what you want to write about. There are so many bloggers out there creating amazing content and you could be one of them! Being a fashion blogger, it’s about showing off your style and personality, no one is ever going to have the same style as you and I love that.

Some important tips of when you’re starting out include buying a domain name, buying a template that is aesthetic pleasing(mine was really cheap off etsy), schedule a couple of posts first and remember these three letters – SEO. When I started out I didn’t have a clue about how Google played an important part in my blog being discovered.

Leave a Reply

