AN INTERVIEW WITH THELILACPRESS

Leigha Gardner is a 25 year old fashion and beauty blogger from Boston. She can be found at thelilacpress.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging during my last semester of college, while I was also interning part-time.

Why did you start blogging?
I started The Lilac Press because I was nervous about what would come next after I graduated college. I was working at a software-as-a-service firm in the energy industry, and I felt that I needed to do something a bit more creative to be happy in the long run. The Lilac Press allowed me to explore my passions in my free time in a safe place.

Do you prefer a nude or bold lip?
It depends on the occasion! I’m a huge fan of a bold red or bright pink lip color – and I usually do wear a bold color when I get dressed up; however, most days I opt for nude.

Who is your fashion icon?
It’s so hard to pick just one! I love historical icons with classic styles like Jackie Kennedy and Audrey Hepburn, but I also feel like I am influenced by current, trendier individuals like Nicole Warne of Garry Pepper Girl and Chiara Ferragni of The Blonde Salad.

How would you describe your style?
I would say I opt mostly for feminine, classic, whimsical and romantic pieces, but lately I’ve been mixing in some edgier options as well, such as leather and distressed denim.

What are your goals for 2017?
This year, I hope to expand my business enough so that I can work on The Lilac Press full time and take it to the next level. I have so many ideas and aspirations, but working a full time job on top of my blog makes it difficult to find the time.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I am totally inspired by Rach Parcell of Pink Peonies! She has so much going on, raising two babies, launching a clothing line and running one of the most successful blogs out there! I don’t know how she does it all.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Stay true to yourself! There are lots of tips and tricks out there for how to beat the system and get the most exposure, but I have found that your followers just want to get to know the real you. Be consistent and be genuine.

Leave a Reply

