AN INTERVIEW WITH THE MESSY EDIT

Emily McGuire is a 21 year old lifestyle, baking, beauty, fashion, advice and review blogger from Bristol. She can be found at themessyedit.co.uk.
When did you start blogging?
I started The Messy Edit in November 2016, however, I have had other blogs in past starting in 2015.
Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging as I love writing. I needed a place to really express myself and put myself out there more. I absolutely adore blogging and I really feel The Messy Edit represents who I am.
What was it like living in Australia?
Living in Australia was crazy. It’s expensive and hot and completely different to being a tourist and on holiday. I didn’t love it as it was not like I expected but completely thankful and glad that I did it and I had the experience.
Did you have any new year resolutions?
I have a bunch of new years resolutions which included ‘learn how to take better photos’, ‘make time to read more books’ and ‘stop making rash decisions’!
What are your hobbies?
Writing is my main hobby. I spend a lot of time doing it whether it be blogging, writing my book, writing my diary or little essays and poetry. I love the theatre, reading, fashion and I’m a fan of watching horror films too!
What is your skin care routine?
My skincare routine is pretty basic. I use face wipes to remove all my makeup and use Bioré Deep Pore Charcoal Cleanser every day in the shower to remove all the impurities. I also moisturise day and night and drink lots and lots of water. As a treat, I sometimes buy myself the Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleaner!!
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I have so many blogging inspirations it’s hard to even narrow it down as everyone is doing their own amazing thing. At the moment my faves are Style Lobster (Emily Valentine), The Little Plum (Chloe Plumstead) and Em Sheldon. These girls are just killing it.
What are your blogging tips and advice?
I think it’s important to do what you want to do, not what everyone else is doing. So many people have blogs these days it’s genuinely hard to stand out from the crowd and posting the same as everyone else won’t help that. At the end of the day, it needs to be genuine. Be inspired but don’t copy. Another tip would be to interact with lots of other bloggers, it’s so nice to talk to other like-minded people!
Leave a Reply

