AN INTERVIEW WITH THE LIFEOFASOCIALBUTTERFLY

Jasmine Buckley is a lifestyle blogger from Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire with a love for all things fashion, film, travel or food related. A self-confessed social butterfly and can be found on thelifeofasocialbutterfly.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
My first blog was published on the 10th April, so nearly approaching my one year anniversary! Exciting! It has gone so fast and I wouldn’t change it for the world 🙂

Why did you start blogging?
I’ve always found I am able to express myself better in writing as I was quite shy when I was very young and loved keeping a diary. As I grew older, before I booked a hotel, holiday or visited a restaurant I used to scour TripAdvisor and it became a passion of mine giving something back by writing my own reviews. I suddenly thought why don’t I share my reviews on my own website, though my confidence held me back and it took around a year and a half before I finally put my blogger account to good use.

Which restaurants are your faves?
When it comes to dining out, it really depends on what mood I’m in. When in London, my rule is that I won’t eat in any restaurant also located in Milton Keynes, (where I live) unless I have little say in the matter of course! I love discovering new places to dine, though I am just as happy sampling the various cuisine on the London markets as I am finding a fancy restaurant. I rarely dine in the same place more than a couple of times, though I have had some exceptional food in DSTRKT on more than one occasion. Though, this was before I started blogging and Yanef was the head chef. I think it may now serve Japanese food and I haven’t been since it changed, therefore another visit is needed! Talking of Japanese, I fell in love with SushiSamba when I attended a London Fashion Week after-party and I’d love to go back to try out the restaurant. I recently visited the winter wonderland, Dalloway Terrace, which was an Instagram dream and one of my most popular blog posts. The food and service were impeccable; a lovely touch to compliment the stunning decor. In terms of food, I love, love, love Greek food and am crying out for a Greek restaurant to open in Milton Keynes! That said, I do love my home comforts and I am dying to try the Roast Burger at Roast Restaurant London Bridge. I love pub grub and a roast dinner would most certainly be my last meal if I was on Death Row! Random comment I know, but as The Shawshank Redemption is my second favourite film and I am currently watching Prison Break ahead of the new series I’ve had a lot of time to think about this!

Favourite singer?
Tough question and not one I think I can answer! I have a very diverse taste in music…so diverse that I can tell you I saw Justin Bieber (never thought I would ever say that) and my next gig will be Guns n Roses with my Mother in June! You can’t get much different that that surely?! I absolutely cannot wait to see Guns n Roses and in all honesty never thought I would get the chance to see them reform and tour the U.K. Slash is a guitar legend and to hear him live…I am beyond excited! In complete contrast, another dream of mine would be to see R.Kelly in the U.K. – his album the R. in R&B is one of my all-time favourite albums. I am also a big fan of UK Garage & Dance music and loved seeing Tiesto and Martin Garrix at EDC in Milton Keynes. Let’s go with R.Kelly.

What’s your favourite film?
Pulp Fiction is my absolute fave. It’s gangster, cool, humourous – all the things I love! I mean, who doesn’t love Tarantino…he’s the man!? I love the intertwining stories and the acting is superb. The soundtrack is amazing too and I love how seriously Tarantino takes the soundtracks to his films. Whilst, a fast-paced film in places it has a real nostalgia feel to it and you can’t help but be drawn into the individual characters’ stories. I want to watch it again now just talking about it!

What are your photography tips?
I am very finicky when it comes to photos. Before taking a shot, I always visualise what it is I want to capture and for an outfit post, for example, it is always important to ensure you capture the entire look and not cut a person’s feet out! I am always generally the one behind rather than in front of the camera – I am never confident in my own pictures but I love photos as they are such a wonderful keepsake for memories. Hence, the reason why my phone storage is always full! I always use the app Snapseed to edit the lighting and brightness on my photos – it is free on both Android and Apple. Photography is such an important part of blogging and I would recommend investing in a camera if you are able. I feel that my blogging photography has improved so much since I used my Olympus Pen ELP-7 and I wouldn’t be without it. It has its own selfie screen, built in wifi and fits into nearly all my handbags so is ideal really.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
That’s a tough one to narrow down. There are so many bloggers I love and for different reasons.

  • Sarah Ashcroft (Fashion). I love Sarah Ashcroft – I want her life, she is just owning it. Her style, her holidays and the events she goes to are amazing. Her Snapchat and Instagram Stories are always very real and she seems very down to earth and amusing. I loved her collaboration with Missguided and as stated on their website, she is a blogger with a style that slays.
  • Mollie Bylett (Travel/Where’s Mollie). Mollie is only one of two bloggers that I actually subscribed to and I love keeping up to date with her travels. Although, I haven’t seen as much of her recently as she doesn’t use Snapchat as often.
  • Retro Flame (Erica Fox/Fashion blogger.) Though I have no hope in hell at pulling off the majority of Erica’s styles, she is one of my favourite bloggers. She’s a natural, down-to-earth Irish girl living in New York. I recently decorated my kitchen exactly the same as the one in Erica’s New York apartment by following her tutorial.
  • Through Mona’s Eyes (Mona/Lifestyle blogger.) We attended many of the same events last year, which sparked my interest in Mona’s blog and in the last six months I’ve seen her blog and channels go from strength to strength. I’ve loved watching her journey and she recently got the opportunity to work with Loreal.


What are your blogging tips and advice?
Be true to yourself and blog about things you enjoy or care about, then your passion will shine through. Try not to concentrate on the numbers, concern yourself more with your content. Try and engage with other bloggers by commenting on their blogs, social media posts and by joining blogger chats and attending events. The more you engage, the more likely those bloggers will engage back.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: In lumina

Leave a Reply

