AN INTERVIEW WITH KNEL

Katie Nelson is a 24 year old beauty, food, lifestyle and travel blogger from Nottingham. She can be found at knel.co.uk.
When did you start blogging?
I actually started blogging a fair few years ago now – 2013 seems so long ago! I threw myself into my blog after finishing my degree, but after a few months some pretty major stuff went down in my personal life and it fell a bit by the wayside. It wasn’t until towards the end of 2014 that I felt ready to come back, but when I did I decided to come back to a completely clean slate and that’s when KNEL was born!
Why did you start blogging?
I’ve lived a lot of my life online, and I’ve always been low-key addicted to social media. I also have issues when it comes to spending money, so before buying something new I always research it profusely to try and avoid wasting my pennies! That was how I came to begin reading beauty blogs. After I finished my degree I actually missed writing after studying a heavy essay based subject, so I decided to take a crack at blogging myself! It was so refreshing to be writing about something because I genuinely wanted to, rather than to get a grade at the end of it – I was hooked!
How did you think of your blog name?
Pretty simply actually – KNEL was my nickname at the bar I worked at for a few years!
Favourite food?
Oh gosh that’s a hard one! I love food and finding new things to cook, but if I had to pick one particular dish it would either be pizza (because you can mix it up with toppings!) or Pad Thai from Wagamama – I literally never order anything else from there!
Best skincare tips?
Drink plenty of water. Like with your health, it starts all starts on the inside! Never ever sleep in your make-up, and have make-up free days to let your skin breathe.
Who is your fashion icon?
I don’t think I have one particular fashion icon to be totally honest. I always see things on Pinterest and Instagram that I love and lust over, but the most important thing for me is to be comfortable and confident in what I’m wearing!
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I’m inspired by a lot of the bloggers I’m lucky enough to count as my friends. The thing I love most about a blog is if I can connect with the person behind it, and people like Rhianna from Robowecop, Jemma from Dorkface and Caitlin from Through The Mirror are the perfect examples of this. I absolutely adore Laurzrah for beauty inspiration, and her photography is stunning!
What are your blogging tips and advice?
Just be yourself, and enjoy it! People will connect with you if you do that, you don’t need to try and imitate anyone else 🙂
Leave a Reply

