AN INTERVIEW WITH ROBYN BATES

Robyn Bates is a 20 year old beauty, fashion, lifestyle and travel blogger from London/Essex. She can be found at robynbates.com.
When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in August 2015 so about a year and a half now. I had graduated from college and wasn’t in the best place with work so it gave me something to look forward to working on and building up.
Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging because I’ve always loved fashion on photography but never knew how to combine the two. I followed bloggers 2 years prior to starting up and wanted to be a part of what they were doing. As crazy as it seems, I love working so it’s great for me to come home from work and build on something.
What was it like studying fashion business?
Amazing! I wouldn’t change my education in that for the world. When people think about business, I think they look at it as in lots of finance, business terms and the environment. Obviously you cover bits of that, but my lessons mostly consisted of styling, merchandising and a lot of other practical tasks. Since studying fashion business, it’s really opened my eye up to the fashion industry and what another world it is.
What is your dream job?
Full time blogging! I hope that in years to come I will be able to leave my part time job and pursue my career in blogging. There’s so much you need to think about with doing something like that as it’s such a huge step. One day …
What 3 words would you describe your style?
Oh this is a bit hard, I feel like I try and do a few different styles. I love a classy and elegant because  you can never go wrong. Boot heels with dresses and trench coats are totally my thing. The last one I would like to say is street style. As well as heels, I love spending my day in a pair of sneakers and casual sweats.
What is your favourite item in your wardrobe?
Such an easy one for me! I bought a black suede skirt in Topshop about 2 or so years ago now. I wear it to death! I think I bought it for about £70 and at the time, I was thinking whether I was going to get my wear out of it for that price. I wear it with near enough everything I own!
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I think like many others I would have to say Sarah Ashcroft. She graduated from my college a few years before I went so when I was starting up my blog, I felt like it was achievable as she had been in the same position as me. Plus of course, I love her style!
What are your blogging tips and advice?
I’m in the process of creating a YouTube video for this as I get asked it quite a lot. To cut it short, I would just say to be yourself and find something that you’re passionate about. If you love what you’re taking photos of and writing about then you’ll go far.
Leave a Reply

