AN INTERVIEW WITH INDISTILLING

Indi Stilling is a 17 year old blogger from East Sussex. She can be found at indistilling.wordpress.com
When did you start blogging?
I started blogging last July which was about 8 months ago, so not that long ago! It has gone so fast!
Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging because I had a 2 month summer holiday in which I needed a hobby to occupy myself with and it looked like a lot of fun! I had a few people always tell me that I should start blogging and because I love fashion and writing I thought why not combine the two? It’s a place where I feel I can really be myself and has really boosted my self confidence and reading comments on my blog always puts a smile on my face. It was one of the best decisions I have made!
Favourite Disney film?
As a huge Disney lover this is a hard question but I would say Princess and the Frog because it is such an inspiring film as it teaches young girls (and boys) that if they put in the hard work then they can do whatever they want to do and that they shouldn’t listen to anyone negative. Also I love the songs in it!
How would you describe your style?
I am a lover for anything vintage or second hand and I love rocking 90s stuff and some days I feel kinda grunge so I guess it depends on my mood. But if I had to put it into one word then I would probably say unique. I like to stand out from the crowd and I do get quite a few weird looks but that doesn’t bother me anymore. I am a very strong believer in being yourself so I put that into what I wear.
What camera do you use?
All of the photos on my blog are taken with my Canon 1100D DLSR camera which is a great camera!
How do you manage being a student and writing a blog?
As a college student I don’t have a lot of free time because I am constantly drowning in coursework but I try my best to set aside about an hour most days to write posts and take photos. I always try my best to prioritise college  work because it is more important so blogging is literally all I do in my free time. I don’t think that it’s healthy to spend every waking hour doing college work so it’s nice to have something to do in my down time and for me that is writing and editing photos. It’s important to balance both work and your hobbies, in my opinion.
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I don’t really have specific people that I take inspiration from but whilst scrolling through Twitter I do like to read other people’s blog and then sometimes I think “oh that’s a good idea” and I add it to my long list of blogging ideas. I do like my blog to be as unique as possible so inspiration does come from anything and everything that goes on in my day to day life. But I am  huge fan of the blog: In The Frow which is written by Victoria. She does inspire me a lot and I love how engaging she is with her readers and how she always replies and just has all round great content.
What are your blogging tips and advice?
A huge tip for blogging would be to engage with your followers so always reply to comments and ask questions in your posts. In addition I would highly recommend using social media as a way to not just promote your blog but also as a way of networking with your readers. I have made a few friends from both Twitter and Instagram and I really enjoy Twitter chats so I would recommend participating in those. Finally a huge one is to not compare your blog to others. Trust me it gets you nowhere. They’re just numbers and you should enjoy blogging and not worry about the fact you have less followers than others for example. Don’t try and make your content just like others in the hope you’ll get more views cause your blog should be what you want to write and should be totally unique. Have confidence and belief in yourself!
One Comment Add yours

  1. Pingback: In lumina

Leave a Reply

