AN INTERVIEW WITH COCOAMAY

Catherine Sayer is a 20 year old beauty blogger from Liverpool. She can be found at cocoamay.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in early 2013.

Why did you start blogging?
I really started blogging because I was absolutely obsessed with all things makeup and beauty, and just wanted to share that with like-minded people. I had started reading blogs in the 2012, and really wanted to be a part of the community myself!

How did you come up with your blog name?
I loved blogs that used ‘Coco’ in their name, like CocoBeautea, so I wanted to incorporate that somewhere. However, ‘Coco May’ was already taken on Blogger, so I settled for ‘Cocoa May’ – which I actually think flows better now! I got the ‘May’ part, simply because my middle name is May, and I always liked the idea of bringing my middle name into my blog somewhere.

What is it like studying Fashion Buying and Merchandising?
It’s pretty stressful! I am in final year now, so it’s definitely getting pretty hectic. Fashion is something I’ve been interested in from a young age, so doing this degree was a no-brainer for me. I love that I get to be both creative and business minded.

Favourite item in your wardrobe?
I think my favourite item in my wardrobe is a beige shearling biker-style coat from Zara. I only got it last year but it’s so cosy and warm and always makes an outfit look much more put together and fashionable! I think a shearling jacket is something everyone should have in their wardrobe.

What’s are your top 3 make up products?
Such a tricky question! I’d have to say my NARS Sheer Glow foundation – it’s my holy grail and I’ve never found another foundation to quite compare. Secondly, my Dose of Colors ‘Bare With Me’ liquid lipstick is my go-to lip colour. It’s such a beautiful soft pink shade, and the formula is the best liquid lipstick I’ve tried! Thirdly, I’d have to say my Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette. I always find myself reaching for this when I’m doing makeup looks, and I can do everything from a soft everyday look to a dramatic night out look.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I have so so many blogging inspirations – I’m always finding new ones and becoming obsessed! I particularly love Victoria (In The Frow), Tamara (The Glam and Glitter), Em (Em Talks) and Lydia Millen. Their blogs are so beautiful and I love how varied their content is. I always go to them when I need a bit of blogging inspiration (and end up adding more beautiful destinations to my bucket list!).

What are your blogging tips and advice?
I’ve been so busy recently that I’ve hardly had time to blog, but one of my top tips is try to be consistent where you can! I always find I’m better at blogging when I’m scheduling posts and I have a clear structure. I’m pretty good at this on my Instagram, but unfortunately, recently uni work has taken over from my blog, so I’m trying to get back into the swing of it! Secondly, I’d say write posts that you would personally like to see/read. If you’re just writing posts for the sake of it, your readers will notice. So, I try to write posts that I would click to read myself. Finally, I would say get as involved as you can in the blogging community. I love chatting to other bloggers on Twitter or Instagram and have found some amazing girls from my blog and social media.

Leave a Reply

