AN INTERVIEW WITH UNIQUELYJULIA

Julia is a 21 year old fashion, beauty, food, travel, advice and lifestyle blogger from Kent. She can be found at uniquelyjulia.wordpress.com.

When did you start blogging?
I created my blog all the way back in 2015 but haven’t started posting regularly up until August 2016. I feel that blogging needs some preparation and commitment if you want your content to be enjoyable and I guess I just wasn’t ready for that back in 2015.

Why did you start blogging?
Silly, but probably because I have watched others do it. For years now, I have wanted to start blogging or vlogging; I would often do my make-up and think of what I could say about the products to anyone who would be interested. I followed so many inspirational bloggers and wished that I was one of them. Joining the community just seemed to be so much fun and I wasn’t wrong!

What’s your favourite food?
My answer for this is always varied depending on what I crave at the given moment. It’s often anything from the sea, such as prawns or squid, or just anything with sugar in. Preferably salted caramel or chocolate fudge cake, please!

What are you studying at university and are you enjoying it?
I’m studying Primary Education and… it’s tough. The workload is often overwhelming and it does make me question whether I’ve made the right choice. However, nothing beats the feeling of working with the little ones, so I guess I’m on the right path?

One make up product you can’t live without?
This depends on whether I have my brows tinted. If not, then definitely my Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Pomade as I do feel that brows define your face and can completely change the way you look. I almost feel naked when my brows aren’t on point! If my brows are tinted, I would probably go for concealer. If you suffer with dark circles under your eyes, you’ll understand.

What camera do you use?
I used to use my Iphone camera a lot, but have recently switched to my brother’s Fuji X-Pro2 after desperately wanting to take pictures with a ‘blurry background’ (you can tell I was new to this!). It takes the most beautiful pictures while being the most confusing camera to use. I am getting to grips with it though, so wish me luck!

Who is your blogging inspiration?
 I absolutely love Kim from LoveCloth as her sense of style is always so inspiring and quirky. More popularly, Lydia Millen. Her fashion is stunning and I love her blogging style. Hardworking, professional yet beautiful and funny. Other favourites include HuntforStyles, Steph Allaire and Mytravellingcloset; check them out!
 
What are your blogging tips and advice?
Don’t look at the numbers. I struggle with this one myself; I sometimes look at my followers’ count without realising that nothing happens overnight. Work hard and enjoy it as if you are doing it for the numbers, you aren’t doing it right. Also, don’t compare yourself to other bloggers. There will always be someone prettier, with better clothes or better photography skills. Do not put yourself down. You do you, as we are all special and there is a place for everyone in the blogging community.

Leave a Reply

