AN INTERVIEW WITH OHKAY-DOHKAY

Kay Page is a 26 year old lifestyle and fashion blogger from Rhondda Valleys, South Wales. She can be found at ohkay-dohkay.com.

When did you start blogging?
It’s hard to remember when I first started blogging because it feels like such a long time ago and I actually started blogging way before I started OhKay-DohKay. I think that I was around 17 when I first created myself a blog but this didn’t last. I dabbled with blogging throughout university too but I stopped when I started to write for the university magazine. I created OhKay-DohKay in 2012.

Why did you start blogging?
Since I was a child I have been obsessed with magazines, it’s always been my biggest addiction and I used to spend all my pocket money on them, even now I spend more than I should. I think this led to my natural interest in writing and journalism, so it wasn’t a surprise when I first thought about entering journalism. I later decided not to because I wanted to pursue history instead but I’ve never forgotten my love of writing. After leaving university I felt lost and had no idea what to do with my life, so I thought I would set up a blog for the time being. For some reason that blog stuck and it’s been my blog ever since.

How do you find inspiration for blog posts?
Everywhere. Honestly I seem to get my blog post in the most random and weird of places. I think they tend to come to me when I’m concentrating on something whether that be work, reading or even watching TV.

What do you enjoy writing about?
This is something that various for me and it really depends on what I am interested in at any given time. In the past it’s been fashion and beauty but these days it’s moved to more lifestyle focussed posts. At the moment I’m really enjoying writing my missing person series and it’s inspired me to revamp my YouTube with a horror/mystery feel. I also love writing about politics too and I’ve found myself doing that a lot lately for other media outlets.

What beauty advice would you give your younger self?
I would probably say three key things to myself;

  1. Leave those eyebrows alone.
  2. Utilise what you have.
  3. Don’t worry, you won’t mind so much in the future.

Favourite show on Netflix?
I feel like this is such a good questions but I can’t pick just one. I love Gossip Girl and Big Bang Theory, they are my go to when I want something that’s easy to watch and requires little concentration. I also love murder-mystery type shows so I loved watching how to get away with murder, Homeland line of duty and stranger things.

I think that Netflix’s hidden gems are it’s documentaries and there are several on there that are really eye opening. I suggest that you watch Audrie and Daisy, Total Cost and Making a Murderer.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
This is another one that varies for me from time to time and is always changing. I’d say that people like Zoella, The Anna Edit and Lily Pebbles inspired me to start my blog and also encouraged me to create the content that I really love. There are hundreds of gems in the blogging community and I’d had to pick just one. However a huge shoutout for the bloggers who spend time helping others, I think these are the most amazing.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
I think it’s always worth mentioning how hard blogging really is because people seem to underestimate or deliberately down play this aspect. There are so many elements that go in to it and it takes time to get the hang of it. I’d also suggest that you have a set of rules that you live by, especially when it comes to sponsored content. I think this keeps your blog authentic and genuine.

Leave a Reply

