AN INTERVIEW WITH SCARLETTLONDON

Scarlett Dixon is a 23 year old travel, lifestyle, beauty, fashion and food blogger from London. She can be found at scarlettlondon.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in 2011, so back then, the blogosphere looked totally different to how it does now. It’s incredible to have watched it grow and evolve from the beginning – watching as brands took note and we started to gain recognition. I think it’s amazing that it’s now a credible and exciting industry of it’s very own!


Why did you start blogging?
I initially began my blog because I was in the process of applying for a journalism course at University and I knew there was an importance in having an online showcase for prospective degrees and employers. I didn’t even know what I’d set up was called a ‘blog’, but I soon had my eyes opened to this incredible new world of like-minded creatives who were creating their own little online empires!

What are your tips for taking good pictures?
Know how to work your lighting. Natural lighting is the best for taking those much perfected outfit shots (bonus points if you’re in front of a pretty white building) but if all else fails, invest in a ring light or two – and you can set up your own little photo studio at home to capitalise on the best lighting. Lighting honestly transforms a photo! So it’s worth experimenting with!

Did you enjoy LFW?
I did thank you, it was really fun to get involved in all the fashion festivities and catch up with all of my blogger friends! It’s always a really mad, rushed affair but this season was super chilled – and I loved that!

What are your hobbies?
Outside of blogging, I wouldn’t say I have any specific hobbies. My blog was always my hobby and writing and photography were always passions of mine, but I never thought I’d actually be able to pursue them both as a career. It feels like a dream come true! I document everything on my blog scarlettlondon.com, so I suppose anything I enjoy is as part of that – but travelling is also a huge love of mine. My bucket list is pages long and I’m always thinking about my next travel adventure!

What’s your proudest achievement?
Probably my proudest achievement so far is being a part of the Transform influencer campaign, which aired on E4, ITV and MTV! I feel really privileged to have a platform to share things that I think are important – and I also have the ability to influence how I share those things responsibility. Cosmetic surgery has a bit of a bad rep but I wanted to share my story – of how my nose dented my self confidence massively – and why I took the decision to change it by having a rhinoplasty procedure. Of course, it had to be shared responsibly – because I don’t want to put across the message that everyone needs to have surgery in order to be confident but women shouldn’t feel bad about doing something for themselves if it’s something that’s affecting them greatly. Cosmetic surgery isn’t just for celebrities, it’s for real people, businesswomen, who make brave decisions for themselves – not for anyone else.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I take inspiration from all the incredible bloggers in the community, as everyone has their own niche and their own way of doing things and seeing that all come together is very inspiring! At the moment, I’m loving my friend Em Sheldon, who travels pretty much 80% of the year and is always inspiring my wanderlust and for fashion and beauty, I adore Lydia Millen and Claire Choquette, who create the most beautiful content!

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Consistency is definitely key, because people love knowing when they can tune into a new post and they love having an indication of what they can expect from you content wise. Focus on really showing off what makes you, you – because your personality and individuality is your unique niche!

Leave a Reply

