AN INTERVIEW WITH LAURENSLITTLEBLOGS

Lauren is a 23 year old beauty, food and lifestyle blogger from Sheffield. She can be found at laurenslittleblogs.blogspot.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I started my blog back in June 2013. I had just finished my A-levels and found myself with plenty of time to spare during the summer before heading off to university.

Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging simply because I wanted something to fill my time during the summer holidays. Back in 2013, blogging was nowhere near as big as it is now. After reading a few blogs, I felt inspired to create my own. Nearly four years later, my blog still has the same concept; to blog when I feel inspired and to use my little corner of the internet as a place to record all of my memories for me to look back on in years to come. Sometimes I do feel it’s easy to find yourself lost in a sea of bloggers and when you feel like this, I think it’s important to take a step back and remember why you started your blog in the first place.

What’s your tips on working with brands?
Over the past four years I have only ever done three sponsored blog posts. My advice for sponsored work is that if nothing is coming your way, you make the first move! Make sure you find the right email address of the company (usually their PR email) and email them with a good pitch of yourself; say what you can offer, why you like the brand, why you want to work with them and suggest some ideas for a collaboration etc. Also, never sell yourself short. When it comes to money, suggest a price slightly higher than you normally would so that it can be negotiated if needs be.

With regards to reviewing products, it’s always important to be honest to your audience and the brand. Also, if you don’t like a product, remember you can say no and don’t put too much pressure on yourself by accepting a million offers at once. Most importantly, don’t care what anyone else thinks. If someone thinks you do too many sponsored posts, who cares and who are they to judge?

Do you prefer a nude or bold lip?
I really don’t feel like I suit nude lipsticks, but I do love lipsticks and glosses with a pink tone. Choosing between a nude or bold lip, I would definitely choose bold, but not too daring. My choice would be a red lipstick as red lips instantly transforms any makeup look. For a daytime look, my go to red is the NYX soft matte lip cream in Cannes and for evening, I love my Tanya Burr matte lip in Christmas Stocking or the Rimmel Kate Moss lasting finish lipstick in the shade 01.

What make up advice would you give your younger self?
This is an obvious one, but don’t pluck your eyebrows! I’m sure it was cool ten years ago to have thin eyebrows?! I started wearing makeup at high school and only wore eyeliner and mascara throughout. I do remember having this bright green eyeshadow that I’d wear at the weekends which was truly awful so I’d probably tell myself to steer clear of that. I’d also advise myself to get all those makeup skills that teenagers seem to have nowadays!

What have you got planned for 2017?
I haven’t planned anything as such but I would love to be in a job that I love and one that doesn’t feel like work because I enjoy it so much. I have a little trip to London planned, and I’m hoping to plan other little trips to explore different places. I just want this year to be full of fun days out making lots of memories!

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I don’t really have a main blogger who I look up to for inspiration. I find many bloggers big or small give me inspiration every day, whether that’s their ability to upload a new blog post everyday so that inspires me to blog more, or someone blogging about an inspiring topic which makes me think in a different way. I find every blogger inspiring in different ways!

What are your blogging tips and advice?

  1. Blog about things you like, you don’t have to stick to a trend.
  2. Investing in a camera definitely does help no matter if it’s a brand new DSLR, second hand or a small digital camera.
  3. Bloggers block is real. Take a week out to read through other blogs, read magazines and watch Youtube videos which will hopefully inspire some ideas.
  4. Social media is great. Promote your blog posts, get involved in Twitter chats and make friends.
  5. Take a break if you need one.
  6. Be yourself and always remember why you started your blog.
Leave a Reply

