AN INTERVIEW WITH JODIE MELISSA

Jodie Melissa is a 21 year old beauty and lifestyle blogger from North Wales. She can be found at jodiemelissa.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging 8 years ago when I was 13, I can’t even remember what my first URL was! However I start blogging consistently on jodiemelissa.com in May 2015.

Why did you start blogging?
Mainly because I loved reading other blogs and watching Youtube videos, I really wanted to join in and share my own opinions with others like I would with my friends. I’ve always been someone that loves to be busy and feeling productive, and blogging definitely satisfies that!

What’s your tips on taking good blog pics?

Once I understood the importance of lighting I started to love photography and have more confidence with my own blog photography. Shooting during a bright time of day really makes a difference to the overall look of a photograph. Another tip is remembering the importance of composition and angles, it can completely change the look and feel of an image.

What make up products are you hoping to buy next?
As you can imagine my wishlist is never ending. I have my eye on the Dior Reviver lip balms, they look beautiful and it’s something I would make use of everyday.
What was your first make up item?
The Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse springs to mind but I feel like it was a probably a Natural Collection lipstick from Boots. I remember always buying makeup from that brand when I was younger because everything was under £2!
Favourite high end brand?
I’m not particularly brand loyal and my day to day makeup bag is filled with products from different brands. But, if I must pick one then of-course it’s Charlotte Tilbury! She nails it with the packaging, concepts and overall quality of the products.
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I think I take inspiration from lots of different places and people, I engage with the community so much that it’s hard not to get inspired by others. I love anything with a Parisian/ trendy vibe and in terms of other bloggers it has to be KateLaVie and Sophiesmakeup.
What are your blogging tips and advice?
My top tips are to be consistent, try not to compare yourself to others and just be yourself, sounds cliche but there is only one you, do your thing and there are bound to be people interested.
Leave a Reply

