AN INTERVIEW WITH MISSBEAUTYEMILY

Emily is a 20 year old beauty YouTuber and blogger from Cornwall. She can be found at missbeautyemily.com.

When did you start blogging?
I properly began my blog back in November 2015. I had it set up around 2014 but I hadn’t gotten into the whole blogger thing and literally only posted about twice a year! Oops. So I count 2015 as being my official blog start.

Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging because I wanted something on the side of my YouTube channel ‘MissBeautyEmily’. At the time I was still living at home and it was difficult to film when I wanted so for those days when I felt really inspired but couldn’t film, I’d unleash it all on my blog.

What is your favourite make up brand?
This is such a hard question! As a huge makeup lover, I adore many brands but if I had to pick.. probably Makeup Revolution. I think their quality of makeup is absolutely amazing for their prices and they dupe so many high end products which usually end up being just as good or even better! Their blush palettes are a personal favourite of mine as they have created some gorgeous shades that are so pigmented! They’re also one of the only brands that I’ve rarely been disappointed with!

Where do you get inspiration for make up looks?
Instagram is a big inspiration for me. The amount of creative and stunning looks I come across is insane. If I’m ever in doubt on a makeup look for an event, party or seasonal holiday then Instagram becomes my best friend! If it’s a tutorial for YouTube/a blog look then I try to be as original as I can, no one wants a carbon copy, so I usually end up having an image in my head of what I want it to look like and the ideas just continue to grow!

How did you learn to do make up?
YouTube! And of course, trial and error. When I first started I had no idea about using makeup and the only reference I’d have is magazines, TV and whatever the back of the packaging suggested! Growing up, I discovered YouTube and their tutorials became life savers for me. I’m still constantly learning makeup techniques as I don’t feel anyone (especially me) is perfect and you can always improve.

What is the first make up item you owned?
I would be lying if I said I knew.. I’m guessing it was something like an eyeshadow from Collection 2000 or Natural Collection. Makeup was foreign to me then so I’m assuming I would have gone for a safe choice of a neutral eyeshadow… I know I always used to try out my mum’s makeup too so my choices definitely would have been influenced by her. I have vague memories of clear mascaras, stick concealers and mini eyeshadow palettes being the first among my makeup collection.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I’m inspired by everyone! Cheesy, perhaps, but the amount of bloggers I’ve discovered and really felt inspired by their content is unreal. I don’t feel someone has to be famous and well off from their blog to be considered an inspiration as each and every one of us are successes, big or small!

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Be yourself, create unique content and enjoy yourself. I’ve seen and experienced people copy someone who appear to be doing well as they feel that if they’re gaining success surely by doing the same content they will too. No! Being yourself is key in the blogging community. No one wants to see the same old post over and over. Put your personality in it, be true to who you are and you will honestly shine! It’s such a shame people feel they have to be like others to fit in and get their content out there but it’s really not the case (and actually a huge pain for the person being copied). Draw inspiration! Mix and match ideas! But put your own twist on it!

Leave a Reply

