AN INTERVIEW WITH CHICPERSUIT

Maria Juvakka is a 24 year old fashion and lifestyle blogger from London. She can be found at chicpursuit.com.
When did you start blogging?
I started my blog about a month ago, in January. However, I’ve been Instagram blogging since March 2016.
Why did you start blogging?
My Instagram has grown a lot since I started using it more professionally, and I’ve been attending blogger events regularly the past half year. It felt a little odd being the only “blogger without a blog”, so I decided to create one.
How did you think of your name?
The biggest compliment to me is being called classy or elegant, so I settled on the name “The Chic Pursuit” as it means the pursuit of elegance and felt fitting.
How do you balance studying and blogging?
I only blog once a week at the moment, so balancing is not that hard. I shoot my outfits over the weekends and edit the pictures whenever I can. I’m also quite lucky in that my Master’s project is medical research, and there are a lot of times where you just need to wait for reactions to finish, which gives me time to do blog work. However, when there are a lot of events life does get pretty hectic, but everything is a matter of prioritising.
What is your dream job?
My dream job is to be an investor and to flip houses for a living – I love interiors!
Who is your fashion icon?
I don’t really have a fashion icon, I take inspiration from girls on Instagram and Pinterest. Rosie Huntington-Whiteley is one of the celebrities who I think looks always gorgeous.
Who is your blogging inspiration?
All of the Swedish blogger have really nice style – Kenza, Janni Deler, etc. Angelica Blick’s photography is insane too. Lydia Millen is my favourite UK blogger and she is always so bubbly!
What are your blogging tips and advice?
My biggest tips would be consistency – don’t start blogging unless you know you can commit to it for a long time. You need to be able to stick to your blogging schedule as well and treat posting days like deadlines. Consistency is especially important if you are looking to grow your Instagram (or YouTube), as the algorithm is dependent on that. Another tip would be to network – always attend as many events as possible because you never know who you might meet! You can also network online by supporting other bloggers and taking an interest in what they do. I always try to reply to everyone who leaves a comment, and find it irritating when I see other small bloggers who don’t do the same.

Leave a Reply

