AN INTERVIEW WITH FREYA FARRINGTON

Freya Farrington is a 25 year old fashion, beauty and lifestyle blogger from Manchester. She can be found at freyafarrington.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started my blog FreyaFarrington.com in the summer of 2015, however it’s not the first time I’d set up a blog. I’d tried and failed several years ago when I was younger and inexperienced and the first content I produced was frankly poor in both imagery and appearance. So I decided to start up a blog again in 2015 with a strong continual monochrome and minimalist theme.

Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging for the simple reason that I absolutely loved it! It’s a hobby that I’ve slowly started to make a career out of and what more could you want in life than to have a career that you love!

What are your hobbies?
First and foremost, I feel it’s only right that as a fashion and beauty blogger, I love a bit of retail therapy! Of the two industries, I’d say beauty and makeup is my number one passion but that’s not to say I don’t like keeping up to date with the fashion trends. I also like to try and stay fit and healthy by going to the gym (although I definitely need to be going a little more than I do currently).

Heels or flats?
Day to day I’m definitely more into flats, the older I get, the more I tend to choose comfort. Having said that, there’s nothing more I love than the feeling of empowerment when I put a pair of my favourite heels on! I feel slimmer, leaner, taller and generally more confident.

Who’s your style icon?
I think I’d struggle to choose one style icon. I absolutely love going through my Instagram and being inspired by all the beautiful girls that you find on there. Although it pains me to say it, I do find myself stalking the Kardashian and Jenner Sisters and taking inspiration from some of their outfit choices mainly because their colour palette remains neutral most of the time. I’m also a fan of casual comfort at the moment and tend to find myself investing in more joggers than jeans at the moment.

If you could only use 2 make-up products what would they be?
As much as I love my makeup collection, if I could only choose 2 products to use, it would probably be a base foundation/BB cream (my favourite is NARS Sheer Glow or Clarins BB Cream). The reason being is that my body is usually more tanned than my face so it evens it all out whilst being able to build it up in areas of imperfections and blemishes as if it were a concealer. The second item would be mascara. Being blessed with naturally blonde hair means that without mascara I look like an alien! Oddly, my brows are dark, but my eyelashes have always been fair. Then for the cheeks a little pink gives them a natural blush and my lips are already quite pigmented.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
There are so many monochrome and minimalist bloggers with a similar theme to my own at the moment and I’m obsessed with Instagram! I love the clean, fresh flow to a monochrome Instagram feed and I’ve even do a blogpost detailing the top 15 bloggers I particularly love to take inspiration from. These include: Love Aesthetics, fashion influx, the London Foxx, Black Arrow Blog, Kirsty Moon and Lydia Marceau at The Black Feather.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
The main tip from me would be to pick a theme, one that you love, and stick with it! Consistence is key, as a blogger, a lot of time and effort is invested into your blog and if you yourself are not invested and passionate enough about your blog, then it simply won’t work. It will become a chore for you, you’ll get bored of it, and your readers will eventually too. Have schedule, be consistent and most of all, enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

