AN INTERVIEW WITH JOSEFINETCETERA

Josefin Widlund is a 26 year old travel and fashion blogger from Malmö, Sweden. She can be found at josefinetcetera.com .

When did you start blogging?
I have actually only been blogging for about a year! I’ve never seen myself as a blogger but I finally realized all the benefits and decided to start one.

Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging more as a way for myself to record things I’m experiencing. I love photography but with both Iphone cameras and the Canon I have I end up with thousands of images that get lost on a hard drive. So for me blogging started as something purely selfish so that I could look at my pictures but it’s great to be able to share as well.

How do you manage travelling and blogging?
I definitely struggled in the beginning to blog and travel at the same time. In the first week of our big trip around Asia the lead connecting the DSLR to the Ipad broke and I couldn’t download any of the pictures from the camera. It was impossible to find the lead in India or Nepal and it wasn’t until we reached Bangkok weeks later that I found one. So I’ve definitely learnt to have doubles of everything next time! Other than the technological setbacks it’s great to travel and blog, it almost forces you to reflect on your recent experiences and take a look back on the pictures. I have apps on the Ipad both for photo editing and blog posting which makes the process pretty simple.

What is your favourite country you have visited and why?
Burma. I visited recently and it’s a beautiful country, it has a vibe of what I imagined the rest of Asia was like 50 years ago as well as extremely friendly people and beautiful scenery. My favourite experience was the trek from Kalaw to Inle lake over three days and staying with locals in small rural villages. That was truly humbling.  Unfortunately I did a classic tourist thing of burning my leg on a motorcycle exhaust, so now I will probably always have a scar or ‘Thai tattoo’ as a memory from Burma.

Is there a country you have visited and disliked?
I wouldn’t say disliked but Thailand has sadly become a bit too touristy and cliché for me.

What is your favourite item in your wardrobe?
A Dries Van Noten kimono I got in the sale, I went in the first day of sale to be sure I got it as I’d had my eye on it for months!

Who is your blogging inspiration?
Susannazabelle (www.susannahzabelle.com)  and Sophlalook (www.sophlalook.com) are two friends who inspired and helped me set up my own blog, so if it weren’t for them I probably wouldn’t have started. I also love Swedish blogger Hanna Stefansson (http://hanna.elle.se) .

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Only blog for yourself and don’t feel pressured. I don’t blog as often as I would want and that can be stressful but you just have to keep going and posting at your own speed. It takes more time than you think but as long as you are posting about something you enjoy it feels more interesting and less like a chore

Leave a Reply

