AN INTERVIEW WITH ONTHELUCE

Lucy Dodsworth is a 38 year old travel blogger from Cheltenham. She can be found at www.ontheluce.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started my site On the Luce about five and a half years ago, when I’d just given up my full-time job, left London and started working as a freelance editor and designer in Cheltenham.

Why did you start blogging?
I used to love to write when I was younger, but my work meant I spent all my time editing and proofreading other people’s words instead of writing my own. I’d started doing a bit of writing for a travel website, but when that closed down I thought why not try setting up my own site. I would never have predicted that I’d still be going almost sox years later and that it’d end up turning into a business and giving me so many amazing opportunities.

Where did your passion for travelling stem from?
I spent most of my childhood holidays in the UK or France and it wasn’t until I went to university that I left Europe. As part of my geography degree I went on a field trip to Thailand and it blew me away – the colours, the smells, the culture – it was so different to anything I’d ever seen. I came home desperate to explore more of the world.

What is your favourite country you have visited and why?
This is a tough one! New Zealand is one of my favourites because it’s so diverse. It has cool cities, beautiful coastlines, great wine and some stunning scenery – all in a relatively small package. If only it wasn’t so far away.

Whereabouts are you travelling to this year?
My next overseas trip is to a new country – Bulgaria – where I’ll be getting back on the slopes after five years away from skiing. Also coming up are trips to Italy’s Cinque Terre, which has been on my wishlist for years, and a return to an old favourite – New York. Then who knows what else!

What are your travelling essentials?
I try to travel light but can’t go anywhere without my camera, a notebook and my Kindle. I’ve been known to devour a book a day and still remember the pain of lugging a pile of books around and desperately searching out book exchanges when I did a round-the-world trip 10 years ago. So being able to carry my own mini library around with me feels like magic.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
There are a few travel bloggers I’ve been following for years and I’ve really enjoyed seeing how their writing and their travel style have changed. One is Jodi from Legal Nomads, who writes fascinating articles about food from around the world. Another is Alex in Wonderland, who takes gorgeous photos and her travels bring back some great memories from my trips around Southeast Asia. 

What are your blogging tips and advice?
My top tip would be don’t be afraid to try different things out, especially when you’re just starting out. It takes a while to find your blogging style, but it takes a while to find an audience too, so the first few months are the perfect time to try out different formats and subjects to see which suits you and which people enjoy (and if you have any disasters you can always go back and delete them!).

Leave a Reply

