AN INTERVIEW WITH FERNABOUTTOWN

Fern is a fashion, travel, food and beauty blogger from London. She can be found at fernabouttown.com.

When did you start blogging?
I just passed the one-year mark this month!
Why did you start blogging?
Initially, it started as a little corner of the internet where I could write up my experience of places I’d visited in the world and share one or two recipes. A few months into it, someone said to me “you should also do fashion” and so, slowly but surely, the blog has extended to style, beauty, and the odd D.I.Y.
What is your advice for extending your audience?
Before I publish something, I always think to myself “would I want to read this?”. Extending your audience is also about generating engagement in the first place! Social media is another one. Instagram is my favourite platform and where I get most engagement. I use my grid as a bit of a mood board for the blog itself. A lot of my click-throughs come via this channel.
Favourite fashion trend?
I love styles that are timeless and classic. Breton stripes, cashmere crew neck jumpers, and anything in camel! That sort of thing. And, of course, you can wear them for years rather than one season!
What camera do you use to shoot blog photos?
I was given a Canon EOS the Christmas before I began blogging. It’s the camera that I tend to use for planned shoots and have collected a few lenses over time for different types of photography. Of course, the iPhone is also great for more candid shots. I use an iPhone 7 and am always really impressed by the image quality.
Where is your favourite place to visit in London?
We’re really lucky to have so many museums on our doorstep in London which, with the exception of some exhibitions, are free to enter. I can always while away an afternoon in the V&A. Kew Gardens is also beautiful year round, but especially so in spring when its “cherry walk” is in blossom. If I’m up early enough on a Sunday, one of my favourite things to do is take a stroll down Columbia Road flower market, followed by brunch. I document some of my favourite places in The London Series on the blog.
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I’ve always admired Poppy Loves London and her whimsical take on London – she always uncovers the loveliest London finds, too, like 1940’s tea dances. I also recently met Rose Thomas, behind The Londoner blog, who has one of the most beautiful Instagram feeds going!
What are your blogging tips and advice?
Quality over quantity, always. And be authentic.

Leave a Reply

