AN INTERVIEW WITH NICOLERAE

Nicole Rodger is a 27 year old fashion, beauty and lifestyle blogger from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. She can be found at  www.nicolerae.ca.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging just over 3 years ago.

Why did you start blogging?
I decided to start blogging because I was (still am) obsessed with beauty products and sometimes people would ask my opinion on something. This was a great medium that could reach more people that may also be wondering about the products I have tried.

Are there any beauty products that you think are underrated?
I tend to buy the ‘latest and greatest’ products when it comes to beauty products, but one range of lip products has never let me down. The Sephora Collection Cream Lip Stains have one of the best liquid lip quick formulas I have ever tried. Definitely one of the most long lasting formulas for sure. They just extended the range with a crazy amount of new shades, and they really have everything you could need for a cheaper price than most high end brands.

Where is your favourite place to shop on the high street?
I love wandering down the beauty aisle at Shoppers Drug Mart, and tend to buy most of my high street products there. Once in a blue moon I’ll buy beauty products from Walmart if there is a good deal or a brand that Shoppers dos not offer.

How would you describe your style in 3 words?
For both beauty and fashion wise: modern, comfortable, and minimal. I tend to stay on the more comfortable side of the spectrum when it comes to beauty, not reaching too far out of my comfort zone. Nothing too extreme, even for nights out. Something I feel comfortable wearing, usually sticking to minimal colours, and is fairly modern.

What’s your favourite make up brand?
If all of the brands in Sephora could be wrapped up into one brand, I would pick that brand. I like different brands for different reasons, especially ranging from beauty to skin care to hair care. if I had to pick just one that I am loving at the moment it would be a hair care brand, IGK Hair. The packaging, marketing, and actual hair care products are the representation of the ‘100’ emoji.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
All my blogging inspirations are pretty big in the YouTube world, but still find time to manage a blog at the same time.

– Estée Lalonde – She’s the real deal… and originally from Canada! http://www.esteelalonde.com/

– The Anna Edit – She makes me want to move to the UK. http://www.theannaedit.com/

– Meghan Rienks – Personality, beauty, and extremely hilarious! http://meghanrienks.co/

What are your blogging tips and advice?

Find a schedule! If you want to post on a more daily or bi-weekly basis, stick to it. At one point I was doing daily blog posts. I can hardly believe that was manageable. I fall off the bandwagon of regular blogging a lot due to being too exhausted and valuing sleep over the past while. I give a giant round of applause to those that can find a way to stay on track. Even if I fall behind on blogging, I have made sure to keep up with daily posts on Instagram to let people in on little tidbits of my life and what products I am using and testing out. Instagram has been a big part of my life, and sticking to a schedule for posting a photo a day challenges me to keep to a schedule.

Leave a Reply

