AN INTERVIEW WITH THE STYLED SUBURBIAN

Leanne Pollitt is a 27 year old fashion blogger from Boston, Massachusetts. She can be found at thestyledsuburbian.com.


When did you seat blogging?
I launched The Styled Suburbian at the end of October 2016.  I originally had the idea to start a fashion blog in July 2016 when on vacation with my husband after reading Sophia Amoruso’s #Girlboss.

Why did you start blogging?
I have a great full time job but have always felt like I needed to do something more. I wanted to find a hobby I was really passionate about as I thrive on challenges and am not one to sit still on the weekends.  I’ve always loved fashion (specifically, affordable fashion) and the thought of starting a website from scratch was very appealing to me.  I put my passion for fashion together with the desire to learn something new and The Styled Suburbian was started!

What is your staple fashion item?
A trench coat. Trench coats can be worn buttoned up and tied or open and loose. They add a classy touch to any outfit and can be worn with jeans and a sweater or dressed up with black faux-leather legging, heels and red lipstick.

What advice would you give your younger self?
I would say to not to give in to the pressure of looking or acting a certain way – be yourself!  When I was younger I cared a lot about what others thought of me – was what I was wearing “cool”? Launching a blog was a big step for me – I put my honest and true self out for the world to see. My style and everything I write is true to myself and if I connect with others because of that, that’s great!  If I don’t connect with them, that’s fine too.

Where is your favourite place to purchase your clothes from?
I love Banana republic, Ann Taylor and Lord & Taylor. Banana and Ann Taylor have classy, feminine pieces that are affordable (they almost always have sales). Lord & Taylor carrier a variety of designer pieces and usually has more stales than Nordstrom.

If you had an unlimited amount of money, what would be the fires fashion item you would buy?
Probably a classic Chanel quilted, black leather handbag. I’ve always loved the classic quilted style (it goes with just about any look) and there’s just something about Chanel that feels special.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I love the looks of Julia Engel from ‘Gal Meets Glam’, Jean from ‘Extra Petite’, and Annie from ‘Stylish Petite’. They all have a feminine, classic style.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Be yourself! People don’t want to see the same thing over and over again on every blog, so stand out and be different. In my first month of blogging I looked at fashion bloggers with high follower counts and thought maybe I needed to act like them in order to grow my following. I quickly realised NOT to do that. I started The Styled Suburbian as a creative outlet and a hobby I enjoy – why would I tweak it to not be true to who I am? That would take much more effort than being myself! People will connect with you and your blog for who you are – it just takes time.

Leave a Reply

