AN INTERVIEW WITH THEJETSETBETS

Betsy Abernethy is a 22 year old fashion and travel blogger from New York. She can be found at thejetsetbets.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started thejetsetbets.com and posting blog-related content on social media (@betsyabernethy) in early 2016. It’s about to be my one year anniversary of having this blog!

Why did you start blogging?
Having my own blog was something I had wanted for years. I loved the idea of having a place to showcase my style and thoughts and was inspired by other bloggers. I knew my job as a flight attendant was interesting to many people so I figured discussing my job and lifestyle (and taking photos in pretty places!) would attract a large following. When I was finally set on starting one, I wanted to do it right: I did a lot of research, made sure I had my own domain, purchased a camera, and made sure every detail was up to my standards. I am so happy with how far I’ve come.

How do you manage your job as well as blogging?
Thankfully blogging has been a great outlet for me which means I usually find it very fun to do rather than a chore or another job on top of my own. As a flight attendant, I sometimes go through large periods of free time, so it’s been something to keep me busy during those times. It’s the perfect hobby for someone like me.

What is your favourite destination you have visited?
I always say that London is my favorite city in the world and Paris is next. I visit the two often in my free time. I just can’t get enough of the amazing food, nightlife, shopping, and people they have to offer. London is basically my second home and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

What fashion trend are you loving recently?
I’ll probably be mad at myself for saying this (it’s New York Fashion Week right now so everything trendy is being overdone), but I’m loving fishnet tights at the moment. Wear them under ripped jeans, dresses, lounge pants, whatever. It looks chic and sexy and brings an outfit up a notch.

How do you relax?
I’m generally not a very stressed person, but at times when I need a break I am lucky enough to be able to hop on a plane and go wherever my heart desires! I always find myself looking forward to my next trip. When that’s not an option, watching Gossip Girl for the hundredth time and eating something not-so-healthy is always my go-to. I’m a pizza & chocolate fanatic.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I am absolutely obsessed with Lydia E. Millen right now, lydiaelisemillen.com. Everything she produces is top of the line, clean, bright, and attractive. She focuses on higher end products and shopping and has been an inspiration for me to grow my blog (so I can go to all those amazing blogger events!) as well as an inspiration to buy lots of expensive things–oops!

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Always be true to yourself and what you like. Your blog should be a reflection of you and it doesn’t come off genuine when you’re trying to be like someone else. I just talk about the things I love and what I’m passionate about. Sponsored posts can be fantastic, but keep them to a minimum. I have no problem promoting a brand, but I’m transparent and don’t like to seem like a big advertisement. I only work with brands I think are fabulous and tie into my lifestyle as “the fashionable flight attendant.” If brands ask to collab that don’t fit into my blog’s theme, I politely decline. There’s always something better on the horizon if you’re persistent with your posts and work on gaining a following. And if you want to work with a brand, just ask! I also think utilizing Instagram to your advantage is huge in the blog world right now as well as YouTube.

Leave a Reply

