AN INTERVIEW WITH SCARLETSLIPPERS

Charlotte is an 18 year old beauty, fashion and lifestyle blogger from the East Midlands. She can be found at scarletslippers.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in January 2014, so I was 15 years old.
Why did you start blogging?
The primary reason I started blogging was to share my passions with other people who had the same interests in me. When I discovered blogging, I absolutely loved the idea of sharing things I loved and getting to know others through this. Making blogger friends has been one of my highlights since starting my blog. The other reasons I began blogging was because of my love of writing – I used to (and still do) love to write, so this was an incredible platform that allowed me not only to share my opinions, view and stories, but my passion for writing as well. Also, I love the idea of documenting parts of my life and looking back at holidays, adventures and life changes from over my 3 years of blogging.
What has made you want to be a forensic scientist?
I have only wanted to become a forensic scientist very recently. Last year, I went through a horrible phase when I found out that my dream job wasn’t all that it was cracked up to be. This made me swiftly change my plans. Since 2014, I have always loved science and had a serious interest in the subject. This is particularly strange because I used to hate it when I started secondary school. However, I found my love for it during GCSE’s – I love revising and finding out cool things about the world around us, and my body. The forensic route was pretty random but after watching lots of crime investigation series, I’ve started to realise how much I really want to carry out this career in the future.
What do you do to relax?
My favourite thing to do to relax would simply be lying in bed, watching a feel-good film with a hot drink and nibbles. This seems like the most cliche answer but it’s true, I can’t think of anything more chilled than snuggling under my duvet engaged in a good old film. My top unhealthy snacks would have to be jaffa cakes, popcorn and dry roasted peanuts!
What’s your favourite shop?
Hmmm…this is a tricky one for me. I would probably have to say Urban Outfitters because of the variety of products that sell. I love how incredible the shop is laid out too. The homeware, clothing and beauty products are stunning; the products are slightly more pricey but the quality is amazing. They always have things on sale so that’s always a bonus too.
What 3 make up products do you rely on?
My number one makeup product I will always rely on is Anastasia Beverly Hills Dip Brow Pomade. I absolutely hate my brows because they are so sparse so I’m forever filling them in at every opportunity – this product has saved my brows completely and never budges throughout the day! I also love the Nars Sheer Glow foundation for full coverage and longevity, and the Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess bronzer for a natural healthy glow.
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I don’t really have any blogger inspirations – I do in the sense that I think some of their ideas are incredible and I like their style but there is not one person in particular I would copy or like to be like. I think the blogging world is so diverse and it needs to stay that way. However, I absolutely love fashion blogger Sarah Ashcroft, lifestyle blogger Being Ashleigh and my girls Lady Hunter and Lily Rose Richards.
What are your blogging tips and advice?
My top blogging tips would be : take photos in natural light as much as possible, keep your writing style original (talk as if you were talking to your best friend, it makes a post more engaging) and finally, interact with other bloggers. Interaction will not only improve your outreach but help you gain friends that have common interests to you and will support you through your blogging journey.
Leave a Reply

