AN INTERVIEW WITH LEXILIFE95

Katy is a 21 year old beauty, lifestyle and fitness blogger from Portsmouth. She can be found at lexilife95.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging nearly 2 years now but only recently joined the beauty blogging field! I started accepting products to review in august 2016. Compared to everyone else, I’m a baby!

Why did you start blogging?
I originally started to improve my writing skills. I was doing my English Language BA degree and thought to pick something up as a hobby that’ll benefit me and my education! Two Birds, One Stone.. all that jazz!

What are your favourite type of posts to blog about?
I haven’t ventured too far out of my comfort blanket which is reviewing products, but recently posted a recipe for a Lemon Drizzle Cake that I tweaked to my liking and LOVED that! I’m such a foodie so that may be why!

What is your favourite beauty brand?
Drugstore has to be Rimmel at the moment, although Barry M’s lip products are creeping in! Just picked up 2 of their lip kits. Highend is either Urban Decay or ABH – eyeshadows to die for!

Is there one beauty product you own that you think should be in everyones make up bag?
For someone with sparse brows, 100% has to be the ABH dipbrow pomade. I think it’s around £15 and my pot has lasted me over 2 years. CRAZY.

Do you struggle with the Youtube and blogging balance at all?
I’d be lying if I said I didn’t. I’m swaying more towards YouTube a lot recently and I’m not stressing about it. If it makes me happy – why freak out!

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I love Stacey Louise White. She is genuinely the nicest person and is always always there for you. I feel she has a sixth sense whenever I need a pep talk…it’s weird…but it works and I love her! Not to mention her blog and photography is BEAUTIFUL and she’s a mum. LIKE HOW???

What are your blogging tips and advice?
To not stress and panic. I know the feeling of not feeling good enough and stressing about not being to get the perfect shot or not having time to blog. It’s not the end of the world and everyone started somewhere. Someone tweeted me something before and I love it: “don’t compare your chapter 1 to someone else chapter 12”.

The moment you start to not enjoy it. Stop, take a break, and thank me later. You’ll soon get those cravings back and you’ll be right as rain – probably taking better pictures with a fresh mind than you would before!

Leave a Reply

