AN INTERVIEW WITH LAUREN LAUTREC

Lauren Lautrec is a 21 year old beauty, fashion and lifestyle blogger from Liverpool. She can be found at laurenlautrec.blogspot.co.uk

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in August 2016. It was something i’d thought about for a very long time and after months of planning I finally had the courage to published it.
Why did you start blogging? 
There is a few reasons I started blogging. Firstly, I’d been reading blogs/watching YouTube videos by various creators since my early teens. I admired them because they would teach me so much, mainly about makeup, fashion and overall lifestyle things. I was very shy at the time with acne, braces and thick framed glasses. I had no idea what I was doing so as you can imagine these bloggers helped greatly! Also, after years and years of learning I had a few of my own tips and stories I wanted to share. Finally, i’d consider myself to be a very lonely person and I knew that blogging would gain me a little place in a community and it certainly has!
 
What inspired you to write your Botched posts?
I know a lot of people probably assumed I wrote that post as clickbate or to put a dramatic twist on a simple blog but it was really because I was infuriated by the way I was treated at the time but also in the aftermath by that doctor and his wife that I needed to say something, the blatant disrespect they gave me upset and angered me. I wasn’t going to be a joke to them. That’s why I kept both of my botched post very factual and honest so people would take it seriously. I also hoped that this would help other understand the dangers of medical neglect. Furthermore, I was honest about how that situation, sadly, made me hate my appearance. So many people hate something about their appearance and in my case it was caused by someone else which made it worse. I wanted people to stop treating themselves like dirt over something uncontrollable. We’re all unique and beautiful and we should use it too our advantage!
What is your favourite drugstore beauty brand?
I really love L’Oréal. From their makeup to their skincare. I think they really understand their audience well and always come out with great products as a result. My favourite product by them is their 24hr infallible foundation. Not only is it a good, long lasting foundation but they have a great selection of shades. Which is great as I am very pale skinned but their is also really dark shades. Something we don’t see enough of is super pale and super dark foundation but L’Oréal have really catered for that.
What is your most recommended skincare product?
I actually have two that go hand in hand together, both by nip and fab! Their kale fix mask and dragons blood masks are my go too products when my face needs some serious TLC. About twice a week followed by my daily skincare routine, I apply my kale fix mask, leave for 20 minutes, wash off, then apple my dragons blood mask and sleep wearing it and remove the next morning. Nothing makes my skin feel cleaner, softer and and more flawless.
Do you have any beauty hacks? 

Well I’d say my number 1 hack would be to stay hydrated and eat as much fruit and vegetables as possible. You can buy the best beauty
products in the world but if you have an awful diet it doesn’t matter what products you use. Another would be adding lemon to, well, near enough everything! I squeeze it into my bath, if I steam my face I’ll add some to the hot water, to a foot spa and occasionally onto my hair. Also when it comes to hair once a month, twice occasionally, I’ll detox my scalp using baking soda. You can get more product build up and bacteria in your hair then you’d think it’s useful to wipe it out and give your roots some space to breath!

 
Who is your blogging inspiration?
There are plenty of lovely bloggers I’ve met through twitter and Instagram that inspire me daily. I love catching up on what they’re doing. I’d say one of my favourite bloggers though is Marzia Bisognin (cutiepiemarzia on YouTube and marziaslife blog) I just find her so engaging, sweet and completely true to herself and her interests. We also have a lot of the same interest and styles. She’s the kind of blogger I aspire to. I also love girlboss.com by Sophia Amoruso. I’ve been a huge fan of Sophia for a long time now and recently purchased two of her books (#girlboss and nasty galaxy) Shes probably the coolest business women out there who’s worked so hard to create what she has, I adore any women with fierce integrity!
What are your blogging tips and advice? 
Technically, I’m only a newbie myself but I’d say there are some vital things to keep in mind. Time management and organisation is something you want to get a grasp of before you even launch your blog. Always plan blog posts in advance, find a day and a time that works for you and if you’re like me, I’m a student, where you have a lot of other stuff going on as well you need keep on top of everything. Yes this can be stressful at times but if life was easy it would be boring! Also, your blog should be attractive yet simple. I’d stare away from any dramatically bold colours and fancy fonts. Remember, don’t worry if your not the best writer in the world. As long as you have good, basic grammar and can make your points in a clear way you’ll be fine. Also, re-read before posting to avoid any silly mistakes. Finally, i’d say, get social! Don’t be afraid to interact with other bloggers. Not only will they want to read your posts but you also meet some lovely people and you find yourself reading their blogs too. Also, if someone comments on your posts be polite and answer them back. Keep your name the same on all social platforms so people can find you.
Leave a Reply

