AN INTERVIEW WITH SHADES OF CHELSEA

Chelsea is a 25 year old fashion and lifestyle blogger from Columbia, Missouri. She can be found at Shades of Chelsea.

When did you start blogging?
I started my first blog, Contemporary Teal, in 2014. After some ups & downs I took a break and then relaunched with Shades of Chelsea in 2015. However, it wasn’t until fall of 2016 that I became consistent and started taking it seriously.

What colour do you wear most?
I love neutrals so if I had to wear one color for the rest of my life, it would be black. Black just goes with everything. It’s versatile and not to mention chic!

What are your hobbies outside of blogging?
Outside of blogging, I love photography, going out to eat, getting caught up in a Netflix series, and going to the gym.

What is your dream job?
Eventually I would love to become a brand strategist. I love helping people achieve their goals and work on their creative endeavors, so it would be awesome to teach the fundamentals of developing an effective brand to start your own business or “side-hustle.”

What is your staple clothing item?
My staple clothing item for all seasons would be a white button-down blouse. You can wear it to work with a pair of trousers, wear it for a night out with a fitted skirt, or just on a causal day with jeans. White blouses are as versatile as it gets.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I have a couple. I absolutely love Mattie James of MattieJames.com. She a fashion blogger who teaches other bloggers and influencers how to make a business out of blogging. On top of all she does, she’s a wife and a mom. She’s truly inspiring. Also, I love Chriselle Lim of TheChriselleFactor.com. Her style is amazing! She’s so chic and really has the fundamentals of essential wardrobe staples down to a science.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Blogging is hard work! To be serious about it you have to be dedicated and committed to the process. By having a specific “niche” and blogging about what you’re truly passionate about, you’ll be set. Try not to blog about everything because eventually you’ll burn out. Also, self-promotion is key. Don’t be afraid to tweet out your blog posts and promote on all social platforms daily.

Leave a Reply

