AN INTERVIEW WITH MONEY SAVING MEGAN

Megan is a 20 year old fashion, beauty, lifestyle and money saving blogger from West Yorkshire. She can be found at www.moneysavingmegan.co.uk

When did you start blogging?
I started in mid December 2015.

Why did you start blogging?
For months my family and friends had been saying how good some of the deals I had found were and telling me I should start a blog to share my finds with others. I also thought it would be healthy for my OCD to try redirect my focus on to something else, like the blog and money saving.

At what age did you start saving money?
My mum brought me up to always be quite savvy when it came to shopping but since paying rent and bills etc. trying to find good deals has become a much bigger part of my life.

Where is your favourite place to shop?
Hmm… That’s a tough one! I like Pretty Little Thing online for clothes shopping and I’ve been really impressed with Primark’s new season clothing. When it comes to beauty buys, it has to be Home Bargains or Poundland  as they have a great range of branded make up for £1.

How do you keep up to date with the latest vouchers and discounts?
It’s just a case of searching voucher sites like Super Savvy Me and Money Saving Expert and the deals on TopCashBack.

What are some of the best bargains you’ve got?
TopCashback have some great new member deals where you can even end up in profit. I got £15 off a £25 Asda shop which was good and got £30 cashback on a £10 bet through Ladbrokes putting me in profit (even though the bets didn’t win…).

I’m a also a big fan of Everything £5.com, I thought it might be poor quality but a lot are ex highstreet brands, plus you can get your first item free so you just pay P&P. 

Who is your blogging inspiration?
There’s so many fabulous bloggers out there, it’s hard to pick one! I think fashion wise Sarah Ashcroft from The Pommie Girl and when it comes to mine saving Emma Mumford The Coupon Queen.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
I would say ignore anyone who is putting you off and just go for it! Another thing I would say is don’t spend lots on expensive props. Candles and cake decorations can make great props and a simple sheet of paper is ideal for creating perfect white backdrops.

The biggest tip I could give is to write for yourself. I heard a quite recently which really helped me when I wasn’t sure if anyone would be interested in my posts – ‘Don’t judge your chapter 1 by someone else’s chapter 30’. This helped me as I was so nervous about getting started, just take your time and believe in yourself. Don’t be disheartened if you don’t think you’re doing so well, it takes time. Everyone in the blogging community has been so helpful and friendly!

Leave a Reply

