AN INTERVIEW WITH THE AUBURN AGENDA

Amy is a 19 year old beauty, fashion and travel blogger from Northampton. She can be found at theauburnagenda.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started my blog in January 2016, but it wasn’t until late August that I started taking blogging super seriously.

Why did you start blogging?
I was at a point in my life where I was about to finish school but I had no idea what I wanted to do. I’ve always had a passion for writing, and I thought why not combine that with my love for fashion and makeup and start a blog? Best decision I’ve ever made.

Would you recommend having a gap year?
Absolutely! It really helped me take a step back and figure out what I wanted to do with my life and career – I’m going to University this year to do an English Literature and Journalism degree. Plus, it’s so nice to take a break from the stress of school and exams.
What is your favourite drugstore beauty brand?
My favourite drugstore beauty brand would have to be either Rimmel London or Maybelline, however I also love NYX lip products.
What season is your favourite for clothes?
I know most people prefer winter for fashion but my personal favourite is summer!  I’m a huge fan of boho and festival-chic styles, so warm weather is a must.
How do you make your blog pictures look good?
I use a Sony Cybershot WX350 to get sharper looking photos, and I always keep my background white and clean. I also love apps like Snapseed for editing and ColorStory for natural-looking filters. Blogging props like fairy lights, succulents/flowers and anything copper are also a must-have!Who is your blogging inspiration?

Maria from mariaj.co.uk for sure. Her photography skills are incredible and her posts are always so well written. She also does brilliant YouTube videos which I hope to start myself in the near future!

What are your blogging advice and tips?

I definitely think quality over quantity is key – although keeping a schedule is important, I think writing a post you’re proud of is more important than posting just for the sake of it. Also, remember that blogging isn’t a competition and everybody grows at different rates, so don’t be disheartened if another blogger is more successful, just be patient and keep working hard.
Leave a Reply

