AN INTERVIEW WITH THEMAKEUPDIRECTORY

Sally O’Kelly is a 23 year old beauty blogger from London and can be found at themakeupdirectory.co.uk.

When did you start blogging?
I actually originally started way back in early 2013, but that stint didn’t last very long and I ended up abandoning ship pretty quickly. I came back in summer 2014 and felt determined to keep it up, and here I am many years later, still going!

Why did you start blogging?
I wasn’t that familiar with the world of blogs but I did read lots of makeup reviews, normally found through Google and on websites like Makeup Alley. For Christmas in 2012 I received a L’Oréal primer and I couldn’t find any reviews anywhere, so felt like I wanted to help out and post one up myself. After a little research I started up my blog and got typing away. That review is still up, it makes me cringe a little!
What is your favourite beauty brand?
Lots of beauty addicts would struggle with this one but for me it’s obvious, I’m completely and utterly obsessed with NARS. I could happily just wear NARS products as everything I’ve tried from them, whether it be for the face, eyes or lips, has been outstanding. Obviously this would be a touch expensive, so I’ll throw in my favourite high street brand which is probably Rimmel.
Where did your blog name aspire from?
I did a degree in Film & TV Production and when I was applying I needed to build a portfolio showcasing many different creative skills. One thing I made was a website layout for a reviews website called The Film Directory, I just thought it was such a cool website name! So when it came to creating my blog a year or so later I recycled the idea as The Makeup Directory. To this day I still can’t decide if I like it or not though…
How do you create your flat lays?
I’ve written a few blog posts with some “behind the scenes” shots but its actually all very basic. I don’t have fancy equipment or anything like that, just me and my camera! I shoot all my photographs in natural lighting, so I get as close to my window as possible and work on top of my desk. I tend to look at the products I’m shooting and then decide on the colour theme, and then I have a whole host of backgrounds, ribbons and accessories to decorate the shot with. It just takes a steady hand, lots of blue tack and a good eye.
What do you use to edit your photographs?
I used Photoshop because it’s a software that I’ve been comfortable with and using for about eight years. If I had started as a blogger who didn’t know Photoshop I probably wouldn’t have bothered, I don’t do major editing so any of the free ones out there would have sufficed.
Who is your blogging inspiration?
I get most inspiration from makeup artists and writers such as Lisa Eldridge, Charlotte Tilbury, Sali Hughes and Jane Cunningham. These are serious legends within the field and they inspire me to keep going as it just amazes me what they can do with makeup and how far they’ve all got.
What are your blogging tips and advice?
Probably not to take things too seriously. Back in summer last year I decided to try and heavily monetise my blog and grow it really quickly, but actually that took all the fun and passion I’d had for blogging away very quickly. I gave that up pretty much straight away and now I just enjoy things and if I make money then great, that’s an added bonus, but I don’t push anything too hard. It’s a hobby that I enjoy and I never want that to change.

Leave a Reply

