AN INTERVIEW WITH LAUGHTERANDLAURENBLOG

Lauren Reid is an 20 year old lifestyle and travel blogger from Edinburgh, Scotland at laughterandlaurenblog.wordpress.com.

When did you start blogging?
I started blogging in June 2016 as a summertime hobby and I would never have believed back then that anyone would be interested in my ramblings.

Why did you start blogging?
I have always loved writing but being a biologist there isn’t much scope for expressing creative skills so I decided to share my passion through a blog.

What are your hobbies outside of blogging?
I recently obtained my PADI Open Water Diver qualification and I love diving and underwater photography. That ties in to my love of travelling and I’m always looking for my next adventure. I also love painting and drawing but it is difficult to fit art around my schedule now. However you will most likely find me curled up on the sofa with a coffee and my pug.

What made you interested in visiting haunted spots?
Growing up in Edinburgh I was always interested in the history of the city and here there is a ‘haunted’ spot around every corner. You can’t walk the cobbles without wondering what kind of ghost stories they keep hidden.

What 3 countries are on the top of your list to visit?
I’ve been lucky enough to travel an extraordinary amount for my age however Australia, the Amazon rainforest and New Zealand (again) are definitely top of my to visit list. I mean who doesn’t want to experience being a Hobbit?

How do you balance blogging and studying at uni?
With university it’s all a matter of prioritising time, I never blog too much over deadlines as something always needs to take a backseat and I don’t blog when I’m not inspired. However taking an evening out every week or so helps me relax and my blog keeps everything balanced.

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I’d have to say travellingtheworldsolo.com, her blog is always so artistic and her photography is amazing. I love travel bloggers as they are exploring more than just the latest trends or focusing on material possession, they’re all about the experience and that is what really matters.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Enjoy your writing, don’t write about beauty because everyone likes to read it, write for you and what you are passionate about. Don’t give up, eventually you will attract the right following!

Leave a Reply

