AN INTERVIEW WITH LOULABELLEROSE

Lauren Rosenbaum is an 19 year old lifestyle, beauty and fashion blogger from Edinburgh, Scotland at loulabellerose.com.

When did you start blogging?
I’ve actually had my blog since November 2014 – I did a couple of posts, gave it up, and then reintroduced my blog in 2015. This little stint also didn’t last and I didn’t start regularly blogging until May 2016. Hopefully this time I’m here to stay!

Why did you start blogging?
I was really not enjoying my current job and didn’t have a hobby to keep me occupied on my days off. I already followed a couple of bloggers so I figured I’d give it a shot. I definitely wouldn’t still be here without the community; everyone is so supportive and I couldn’t stop blogging now because I’d miss all my blogger friends.

What beauty item can you not live without?
Makeup wise – definitely concealer. I need some sort of coverage on my face because my skin is just awful! Skincare wise – cleanser. If you don’t cleanse your face, your skin will get a million times worse!

Favourite skincare brand?
This one’s tricky because I use a lot of bits and pieces from different brands. Liz Earle is a brand widely loved by bloggers, myself included, but I’ve also really been loving Alpha H (mainly for their Liquid Gold) and Pixi is a brand I really enjoy as well. So I think the answer to this question is unknown!

What is your favourite thing about blogging?
It has to be the community, for me. I had no idea such lovely human beings existed! Blogging definitely wouldn’t be the same if it weren’t for everyone supporting each other – I actually quit my blog back in 2015 because I didn’t feel like I had enough support. If only I’d known about the community back then!

What was your first make up item?
Oh gosh, probably hair mascara or lipgloss. I obviously remember the hideous Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse, but that’s the earliest memory I have of makeup. And I didn’t even attempt anything with my eyebrows until 2015!

Who is your blogging inspiration?
I have a few – Maria from mariaj.co.uk is a massive inspiration for me. Her photos and her posts are insane and I hope to one day progress to YouTube as she has done. Also, you can’t talk about inspirations without mentioning Zoella; I think she’s inspired most bloggers. Josie from FashionMumblr and Victoria from inthefrow give me major blog envy as well.

What are your blogging tips and advice?
Get yourself involved in the community from the start, it helps more than you know! Don’t stress about not having a fancy camera, the editing matters more. A good editing app is ColorStory! Only write about things you want to write about, not what you think people want to hear. It’ll be evident in your writing if you don’t enjoy the topic. And try to integrate as much of your personality as you can into your writing, it makes for a fun read!

Leave a Reply

